iPhone 3GS "Carrier" under settings

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by moka, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #1
    My Friend recently purchased an iPhone 3GS, when i saw him today i was looking at his phone and noticed that he has a carrier option under the settings application, i was surprised because he purchased it at the subsidized price of $299, Apple Store - Southern California. Isn't the carrier settings usually seen in factory unlocked iPhones or am i mistaken? since this does not appear on my phone.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Morn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #2
    This is normal on iPhone's sold where I live (Australia).
    Maybe latest AT&T carrier file doesn't hide the carrier setting? :confused:
     
  3. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPod touch 32GB: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7C97d Safari/528.16)

    That's always been visible on uk phones and doesn't mean the phone is unlocked, unfortunately
     
  4. EarthDawn macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
    #4
    Mine doesn't have that ....

    What does it say under Version?

    If your not sure where to find it it's settings, general, version
     
  5. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    Are you using a hacked carrier file? Anything hacked to enable tethering or MMS?
     
  6. bstreiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #6
  7. pugnut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #7
    I have MMS and Internet and no carrier file

    Not hacked , new phone. I have a non-iPhone text plan and all is working fine
     
  8. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    When I do this on my UK one it lists all the carriers available

    Don't want to change it to something else incase it screws something up
     
  9. onep00nis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #9
    It doesn't mean the phone is unlocked or hacked. According to Apple site, it suppose to show up when using a different network. Here's what Apple site says and here the link: http://www.apple.com/iphone/how-to/#settings.carrier

    "Carrier
    This setting appears when you’re outside of your carrier’s network and other local carrier data networks are available to use for your phone calls, visual voicemail, and cellular network Internet connections. You can make calls only on carriers that have roaming agreements with your carrier. Additional fees may apply. Roaming charges may be billed to you by the carrier of the selected network, through your carrier.

    For information about out-of-network coverage and how to enable roaming, contact your carrier or go to your carrier’s website.

    Select a carrier:
    Choose Carrier and select the network you want to use.

    Once you select a network, iPhone uses only that network. If the network is unavailable, “No service” appears on the iPhone screen and you can’t make or receive calls or visual voicemail, or connect to the Internet via cellular data network. Set Network Settings to Automatic to have iPhone select a network for you."
     
  10. moka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #10
    problem is mine is not showing that and its practically the same phone and service plan, we were at the same exact spot. he has not modified or downloaded any carrier files what so ever.

    We will try and use a friends t-mobile Sim card and see what happens with in the next couple days.

    Version is 3.0 (7A341) same as all 3.0 3GS iPhones i believe...
     

Share This Page