iPhone 3GS downgrade from baseband 5.15.04?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by awadeee, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #1
    Was just wondering if it's possible to take a 3GS running on 4.1 with baseband 5.15.04 and downgrade the baseband to something unlockable? I've scoured Google and found nothing but I figured I'd try here before I gave up. Thanks!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The 3Gs baseband cannot be downgraded. To unlock, you'll have to upgrade it to the iPad baseband. Warning: Read about it. You might lose GPS.
     
  3. erichkooi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #3
    I just did the downgrade from iOS 4.2.1 to iOS 4.1 without downgrade the bootrom and it working well.

    You can read more on
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1086439
     
  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    downgrading firmware has nothing to do with baseband! firmware yes if you have shsh blobs saved. Baseband can not be downgraded. ;) understand what you are talking about before you try to help others.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  6. awadeee thread starter macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #6
    Yeah, I went through all the 6.15.00 business with my old 3G that I ended up selling. I don't think I'll end up doing that to my 3GS.

    @Everyone: Thank you for the helpful input!
     
  7. lansa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #7
    Can my 3GS thats been unlocked with ipad baseband somehow be restored so that its not tethered anymore? I dont mind losing the unlock or the jailbreak, just dont wanna be tethered anymore.
     
  8. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #8
    You can run greenpoison over a redsn0w jailbreak.
     

Share This Page