iPhone 3GS EDGE issues...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Blazer24K, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Blazer24K macrumors member

    Blazer24K

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #1
    I just recently upgraded my first-gen EDGE iPhone for the new 3GS and have run into an issue with the way the new phone runs on the EDGE network. There is currently no 3G network where I work (only at home), so the phone has to default back to the EDGE network. Unfortunately, when on this network, the data connection runs so slowly that it's almost unusable. The phone cannot even connect to most websites...

    I never had this issue with the original iPhone, so I'm wondering why the new model is having such a hard time connecting? Is there a new setting I'm unaware of that I need to change? Is anyone else having this issue? Any input is appreciated, thanks for the help in advance.
     
  2. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
  3. Blazer24K thread starter macrumors member

    Blazer24K

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #3
    I've tried an entire day with the 3G turned off and an entire day with it turned on. Same results each time. No luck.
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    Download the speed test app and compare the results at home on 3G and work on EDGE. Only then will you truly understand how much faster it is. ;)
    You have clearly forgotten how slow EDGE is.
     
  5. Denny Crane macrumors member

    Denny Crane

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    Alabama
    #5
    I'm having the same problems....

    Except my wife's 3G on the 2. something software runs faster on Edge than my 3GS does.

    Same thing if I switch to my old 3G on the 3.0 software. It runs slower on Edge than my wife's.
     
  6. petesonline macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #6
    it's not the phone or area

    My firend has the 3g phone and recentlly he started having the same issue. He mentioned to me he used to have a solid 3g connection at work now, it goes form 3g to edge, every so often. I think either the att network is getting overloaded, maybe there is a large amout of 1st gen iphone user upgarding to the 3gs or the new software has some bugs in it. Are you using the 19.99 data/message paln. I know att is trying to lock up this loop hole. My firend is using the 19.99 data plan and he uses the cingular APN I wonder if that is the issue.

    If you are using the iphone data plan than it's probably network congestion or software bugs.
     
  7. Blazer24K thread starter macrumors member

    Blazer24K

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #7
    I'm using the standard 3G data plan.. around $30 i think. From what I understood, it was my only option outside of the "Enterprise" plan which I don't need.

    Also, if I wasn't clear earlier. I'm just comparing EDGE to EDGE speeds on my first-gen phone vs the new 3GS. I'm not trying to compare EDGE to 3G which is obviously much faster. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  8. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #8
    Well, I was on an Edge network yesterday and ran the Speedtest app... and this is what I got...

    Ping : 9530ms
    Download: 0
    Upload: 0

    I just reran it again, and got similar results.

    Let's just say that web pages won't load very well.

    Here's a screen cap of a test I just ran.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bryanlyle/3657275821/

    Zoom Zoom
     
  9. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #9
    yeah

    yeah, I am doing a 2G test today, for the reason of testing battery life.

    But, doing a speedtest here at home where I don't really have good 2G coverage, 2-3 bars,

    I am getting readings like this

    DL 5kps
    up 3kps

    Or, latency so high it cannot be tested.

    So something here really does seem screwy.
     
  10. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  11. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #11
    couple tests

    So, I did a couple of tests, and it appears that EDGE on my device is FINE at least.

    I DID do the test earlier at home, where I noted I have poor service. I have 2-3 bars at best.

    With 3-5 bars somewhere else, EDGE seems to give, well at least FULL EDGE speeds, like 165kps up and 90kps down.

    Check out these test done in town Menlo Park, and on the highway..
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Blazer24K thread starter macrumors member

    Blazer24K

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #12
    Unfortunately, because of my switch to the new 3GS, I can't do a fair comparison test of the old first-gen phone versus the new one. All I have to go on is the knowledge that it once worked fine, and now it barely works at all.... i'll try getting some speedtest results posted of the 3GS and see if it offers any solutions.
     
  13. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #13
    Maybe we live near each other and don't even know it :) I'm in VA and my speeds continue to be sloooooow. If this continues a few more days, I'll have to make a 90 mile trek to the Apple store for some Genius time.
     
  14. gretafour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #14
    Terrible EDGE on my 3GS

    My EDGE is also unusable. I usually have great signal reception (4-5 bars), and voice sounds fine. However, loading a webpage is out of the question.

    I have my screen auto-lock set to two minutes. Loading any given webpage, it will not even begin to display anything before the screen locks after two minutes. Your average site needs about t 10 minutes to load completely, assuming it loads at all. Ridiculous.

    I live in an EDGE-only area, but when I enter 3G coverage, I get great speeds.

    I'm in Seneca Falls, NY. AT&T coverage map shows the area blanketed in EDGE.

    I think the latency is the real killer. Unbelievable. Anyone have any leads?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page