iPhone iPhone 3GS Jailbreak Cydia not working

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by novice121, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. novice121 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #1
    Hi, so I got a new iPhone 3GS on iOS 5.1.1- baseband 05.13.04.

    I only have blobs for 5.1.1, but I'm ok there.

    So I jailbreak easily with Redsnow, and install Cydia, but the Cydia icons does not open, it only opens when I use the option "Just boot" from Redsnow after each reboot.

    I thought the jailbreak was untethered, so I don't know what could be wrong.
     
  2. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #2
    iPhone 3GS Jailbreak Cydia not working

    If the 3gs you have is the same one you saved blobs for, make a custom version by stitching your blobs to a 5.1.1 firmware, and Use Absinthe to jailbreak.

    Right now all you're doing is using a tethered jailbreak.
     
  3. novice121, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013

    novice121 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #3
    Thank you, I tried doing this right now, but I always get the message:

    "Found device in DFU mode instead of Recovery Mode"

    Trust me, it was way difficult to previously update to iPad Baseband, and downgrade for an IMEI unlock on this particular device, I had to try many many times with different versions of Redsnow.



    Now, whenever I try restoring 5.1.1 again, I see that message, no matter how many times I try.


    Ps: Thanks for the tip, will update if I make it work !
     
  4. novice121, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013

    novice121 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #4
    So right now I'm stuck in DFU mode most of the time.

    I was able to create a custom IPW with fixed blobs for 5.1.1, and restore, after that I tried to jailbreak with Absinth, but it got stuck in the reboot process for hours.

    After that, I hard reset the phone, and when it booted up, everything seemed fine, but after a normal reboot, all the icons were gone except for the newsstand icon.

    Now I'm trying to restore again with iTunes, but an error comes up,Error 1601 restoring with redsnow says that the device can't get in recovery mode.

    The device would turn off and stay black, only am able to get in using the Just boot option sometimes.


    Any tips?

    PS: I'm trying all of this multiple times on 3 different machines and different USB ports, as well as diferent versions of Redsnow and Absinth.

    Old PC with LGA 775 board Dual Core, and XP,
    New PC with i5 3570 LGA 1155 board z77, and Windows 7
    Laptop with AMD 8 cores, Windows 8

    All have fresh reformatted installs of Windows, with no AV, and Admin priviliges.


    I don't think the phone is bad, because I remember my old 3GS took many many tries untill I was able to run 6.1.2 on it with IMEI unlock.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    are you restoring in DFU mode? after the restore and BEFORE jailbreaking, are you able to reboot your phone or use it perfectly fine? If not, then it's not related to absinthe causing this problem

    it could be the shsh blobs or maybe a hardware problem since you said that you even had trouble restoring to 6.1.2
     
  6. novice121 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #6
    I was able to restore the custom IPSW using iTunes because redsnow would always say it wasn't able to do it (can't get into Recovery mode).

    I was able to save blobs to the server and locally, however when I query blobs from the server, the "Available blobs" windows comes as a blank text file (even though it was able to use blobs for previous restores).

    After restoring fresh, I used Absinth to jailbreak, but it would never reboot, so I hard reset the device and everything seems fine, even Cydia, but after a normal reboot (jsut turn it off and on), all I could see was the news stand icon and nothing more.

    After that I try to "Just boot" with redsnow, it works twice, but after that it didn't anymore.

    All I see now after "Just boot" is a blanck white/grey screen, and nothing more.

    The device seems to get into DFU mode something, but I'm stuck in that blank white screen :(
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    Use redsn0w to restore.

    download the 5.1.1 IPSw if you don't have it
    go to Extras/even/more/restore
    Select the 5.1.1 IPSW
    select remote blobs ( or local if you have them)
    say yes if asked to preserve BB.

    The original problem probably could have been solved by (re) installing Rocky Racoon 5.1.1 untherer in Cydia
     
  8. novice121 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #8
    Thank you, but it's a no go :(

    I have an untouched 5.1.1 IPSW, one stitched with my blobs, one made by redsnow, and one made by snowbreeze.

    None of them work, because when it's about to restore, Redsnow says the device it's still in DFU mode and can;t get into recovery mode.

    So I get into recovery mode manually for iTunes, but still none of them work, and give me errors, even though iTunes says it's in recovery mode.


    Also, while in recovery mode, the screen stays black, intead of showing the iTunes logo and the USB cable.
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  10. novice121, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013

    novice121 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #10
    I appreciate it mate, but that's my problem. I know that guide word for word by memory right now :( but right after preparing the restore image,a message says that it can't find a device in Recovery mode (it's stuck in DFU mode).
    Same message appears if I make a custom IPSW with my blobs, or if I stitch blobs into one.

    The scary part is that "Just boot" dowsn't work anymore, it just shows a blank white/grey screen :(


    PS: what is interesting is that after it's unable to restore, I can click to go back, and just hit Jailbreak, and it will try to jailbreak, telling me that the device has a tethered jailbreak, and that I should use a "Just boot" option, but that always gives me the blank grey screen :(

    PS2: Tried this in 3 different machines with same result, I even went as far as to ask a friend for spare usb cables in case the one that came with the phone was not made by Apple.
     

Share This Page