iPhone iphone 3gs not detecting sim

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by wolfgang666, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. wolfgang666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #1
    my friend got an unlocked iphone 3gs from at&t...

    he is using it in india, when he inserted a local sim, it doesnt get detected...
    the box claims its an unlocked version...

    the phone is already updated to ios6...

    any idea what can be done to fix this???

    any help would be much appreciated...
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
  3. wolfgang666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #3
    its really weird coz the box says its an unlocked iphone...

    dnt remember the baseband, but the phone has been updated to the latest ios 6...
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Did he buy this phone on the resale market ?
    Sounds like he got scammed.
     
  5. gizmofreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    #5
  6. wolfgang666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #6
    in the website you have provided, there is a link which charges for a permanent unlock from at&t... wanna know if it is reliable???

    no he did not buy it from the resale market... it was bought from an apple store..
    it does seem like the poor fellow was scammed...
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Apple doesn't scam people, your friend just didn't understand what he bought.
    The good news he can IMEI unlock it for about $5 since it is an AT&T model.

    Many threads here about IMEI unlocks.
     
  8. wolfgang666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #8
    alright cool...thx a lot mate for your help...
     
  9. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #9
    I have factory unlocked iPhone from 3G to 5 and I don't remember seeing the box saying unlocked iPhone.
     

Share This Page