iPhone 3gs restore to 3.1.2 from jailbroken 3.1.2 help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by duffsrp, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. duffsrp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Carlsbad
    #1
    I need to take my phone it to get looked at by Apple. It looks like I have some dead pixels. I've got it running 3.1.2 jailbroken. I want to try to preserve my JB options so I only want to restore to 3.1.2. I have the actual firmware and do the option+ restore and point it to the actual 3.1.2 file. It contacts apple and then I get a message that I can't restore because the "device isn't eligible for the requested build" I've even put it in the DFU to try to get it to work. Should I even worry about it or go to 3.1.3? I do want to JB my phone in the future if I don't get a replacement.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Once you restore to official Apple firmware, you can't re-JB anyway.

    If it were me, assuming your warranty doesn't expire soon, I would wait until JB tools are updated. Then you can possibly restore, go to Genius Bar and re-JB later.
     
  3. duffsrp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Carlsbad
    #3
    dhlizard, I think you can rejailbreak using redsnow. I can't stand looking at this thing on my screen or I wouldn't do anything about it. Do you think they'll even notice the JB if I take it in?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    IF you can restore to 3.1.2, I guess you could re-JB with Redsn0w.

    Jailbreaking can void your warranty, why would you chance it. If the Genius sees it's jailbroken, he/she may not replace the phone.
     
  5. duffsrp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Carlsbad
    #5
    Yeah I hear you. I think I figured it out. I read how to down grade to 3.x on iclairify. I'm just shy to do it. But if I get a new phone I might have a 3.1.3 so I may be sitting out the jailbreak anyway. Bummed this thing showed up on my phone. Thanks for the advice and warning. Great to have the community as a sounding board.
     
  6. twarner776 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6


    What was the outcome. I'm in a similar boat but not warranty work needed. I just cant get wifi to work so I wanted to reload. I have 3.1.2 JB and want to go back to standard 3.1.2 and start over. when I use itunes I get the not eligible for the requested build. Please help
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    That's the big issue with 3GS, restoring to official Apple 3.1.2.
     
  8. duffsrp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Carlsbad
    #8
    I guess it was debris in the screen so the apple store swapped screens in 5 minutes. But I installed stock 3.1.2 to go to the apple store to get it looked at. I probably should have gone back to 3.1.1 right?
    I haven't redsnowed it yet. Will probably do it tonight. Will let you know how that goes. Although I have hashes stored at cydia. Does that mean I can go back to old base band?
     

Share This Page