iphone 3gs unlock, do I understand this corectly

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by learningasigo, Jun 24, 2011.

1. learningasigo macrumors newbie

Hello,

Let me first admit that I am new to this, but I have been learning a great deal as I've looked through the site for going on about 3 days now. I am hoping to get some clarification. I have an iphone 3gs and unwittingly moved it to 4.3.3 a couple of weeks ago, and I'm running 5.16.02 baseband. I'm going to be going to India for about 2 1/2 months and would love to use my iphone there. I cannot afford At&t's out of country charges, nor can I afford to buy an new factory unlocked phone. So let me make sure that I understand what I've learned so far and ask a couple of new questions that I haven't seen answered yet.

If I want to unlock my phone, the only way to do it is to install the ipad baseband, but in doing so I will very possibly loose my GPS function and will never be able to upgrade to a new firmware.(don't have waranty, so not worried about that) I also believe that I understand that I will never be able to restore my phone to its former state and therefore not be able to get GPS function back unless you guys figure out some new way around that problem. Am I correct in all of this?

Questions:
    I think that I saw that if I did this it is possible that I may not loose my GPS function, but just kind of a 50/50 thing and a big risk that I take?

I have also not been able to find a clear answer on whether or not I can still use at&t when I do this. I am still under contract, so while in the states, I need to stick with them. Several people said that Apple can tell I've done this, can AT&T, do they care?

How important is not being able to upgrade my firmware? I am a fairly basic user and have never been able to see any advantages in it before, so it doesn't feel like it will be that big of a deal.