Iphone 3GS with data plan only?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cliftonite, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. cliftonite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    I would like to get an iPhone, however I dont use anywhere near the 400 mins that the base plan requires. So could I sign up for the phone, cancel on the 31st day pay the termination fee, + 1 month service, then use the phone with only the data plan (I believe it would be $35 a month) plus the $5 texting plan and use a prepaid voice plan of some sort?

    Breakdown of costs:

    321+175+30(activation)+85(1 month service with taxes, estimate) = $611 (perhaps $511 if the Bing cashback goes through). Is this possible?
     
  2. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    You should look in to the AT&T pay as you go plans. I don't know if the iPhone 3GS will be available with that, but it would probably be worth calling and asking in your case.
     
  3. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #3
    You'd have to be deaf in order to get data only plan.
     
  4. saDeRmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #4
    You have to be registered with the National Center for Customers with Disabilities.
     
  5. cliftonite thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #5
    So there is no way to have the 3GS without a voice plan (even if you are willing to pay full price for the phone?)
     
  6. cliftonite thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    Anyone?
     
  7. saDeRmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #7
    You cannot have just the data plan for the iPhone. Full price (w/o contract) for the phone is for tenured postpaid customers only with good account status.
     
  8. cliftonite thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #8
    I see. Even if I was to buy one off ebay I couldnt have just a data plan on it?
     
  9. saDeRmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #9
    Nope its a requirement.
     

Share This Page