iPhone 4.0 beta 3 deletes older SDKs?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Soulstorm, May 5, 2010.

  1. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #1
    I just installed the iPhone SDK 4.0 beta 3, and I just noticed that I can only build applications for iPhone OS 4.0, or 3.2!

    I am not able to build for 3.1.3 anymore. This is really a problem for me, as I want to update an application of mine in the App Store, but I can't do it, since I don't have the currently available SDK!

    I also searched in /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/Library/ and I saw only "iPhoneOS3.2.sdk" and "iPhoneOS4.0.sdk" inside. All the other SDKs are gone.

    So, will I need to downgrade to submit my updated applications to the App Store for iPhone OS 3.1.3?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I haven't installed Beta 3 yet but when I installed Beta 2 I got similar as I forgot to check/did not notice the optional install for 3.1.3. Re-run the installer and check the box for the older SDK.

    Note you still won't be able to update an app currently on the store: you cannot submit apps built with the beta versions of XCode regardless of the SDK selected. You need to download the 3.2 SDK and install the production version. You can have both installed by installing them to custom locations...
     
  3. Soulstorm thread starter macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #3
    I understand what you are saying, but this time this is not the case. Here is a screenshot of the installer.

    Notice the absebse of optional SDK installers?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Odd. I'll see what it looks like when I install later. But, as I noted above, you should really be keeping two installations...
     
  5. Soulstorm thread starter macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #5
    Yes. I will uninstall my current version, and then install the final 3.2 release. I will then reinstall the latest beta into a different location.

    However, wont that cause any problems?
     
  6. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    It shouldn't. And, in fact, it's the Apple recommended approach to using beta SDKs.
     
  7. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68040

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #7
    Almost everything installed by the SDK installers goes into the install folder, /Developer by default. The exceptions are the unix command line tools, which go into their own locations in /usr or /bin or somewhere. Also the chud tools, which may include Shark, are always installed into /Developer so there's only ever one copy of these on your computer.

    You can prevent these tools that go outside of the install folder from being installed by using a custom install and unchecking their packages if you want. Also, obviously the install order governs which version of the chud tools and unix tools are installed. You could run the current GM installer again after installing a beta to be sure that you have those tools from the GM SDK and not from the beta.

    If you don't use those tools then you probably don't need to worry about this at all.
     
  8. GQAdonis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #8
    Found the problem...

    I had this same problem after installing iPhone OS SDK 4.0 Beta 3, and the issue turned out to be that they seem to have changed where the SDK files are loaded from in XCode at some point.

    I fixed it by copying the old SDK directories into the directory where you found the 3.2 and 4.0 files by themselves. After that, the older SDK's were recognized.

    The directory to assure the SDK files are copied TO is /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/SDKs.

    If you don't have the old files, you might have to either consult a back up of a previous XCode install or install an older version, save the old SDK directories aside, reinstall 4.0 Beta 3, and copy those files back into the base directory above.
     
  9. Soulstorm thread starter macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #9
    I uninstalled everything, and I reinstalled the 3.2 GM version, and then installed the current beta, in "/Developer_Beta/". So far everything seems fine, I use the beta 4.0 when I need it, and for anything else I use the GM.
     

Share This Page