iPhone 4.0 Beta 4 Allows Longer Cell Provider Names

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by OCDMacGeek, May 19, 2010.

  1. OCDMacGeek macrumors 6502a

    OCDMacGeek

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #1
    I use an unlocked iPhone 3GS in Montana, where we don't have AT&T. My cell provider is called Cellular One. It always used to appear truncated, like Cellul... (or something similar).

    On the new iPhone 4.0 Beta 4, the entire name appears: Cellular One.

    I wonder if this has some broader meaning. What legit provider needed the longer name?
     
  2. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    I never thought this was a problem/desire of the new OS but hey, who am I to judge?
     
  4. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #5
    He right though. It would be one of those little things they'd probably fix after testing on a longer named network.

    Whether that network is American or not is anybody's guess. They may be announcing a giant deal with some big carrier in India for all we know.


    EDIT:

    There has to a prize for this.
     
  5. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    LOL

    to be fair...and as previously mentioned....could be any carrier worldwide.
     
  6. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #7
    China Mobile.
     
  7. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #8
    Probably for carriers outside the US. You guys are too quick to jump to Verizon as a conclusion and forget that the iPhone is offered in like 95 other countries around the world. Eg: here in NZ have 2degrees mobile
     
  8. Nickday89 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #9
    I doubt it was done for Verizon, when they could just use VZW instead...
     
  9. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Ok, I think we've had enough "it's not for Verizon" posts. We all get the point.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Exactly.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Although you'd have to be insane to use an iPhone on 2degrees at $0.50/MB :p

    You currently get the truncation with "Telecom NZ" too, so it'd be nice to see the whole thing there.
     
  12. xcrunner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #13
    I doubt they would. They've used Verizon Wireless on the Pre, for example.
     
  13. ravensfan55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #14
    Theres a ton of carriers overseas whose tag gets truncated on 3.x and before. Vodafone, TeliaSonera, China Mobile are a few that come to mind.
     

Share This Page