iphone 4 acting wierd or normal?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by zaidar61s, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. zaidar61s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #1
    hi

    i have an iphone 4 32gb which was given to me as a replacement by apple. the iphone seems as if it is unlocked as all the sims work in it however itunes has not said anything like "your iphone is unlocked"

    the problem is.

    each time i put a new sim in the Iphone e.g t mobile, 02, orange, i have to connect it to itunes to activate the phone, and after its activated that sim will work. if i change to another network i have to activate it again is this normal?

    i assumed if a Iphone is unlocked once activated you can pop any sim card in it.

    thanks
     
  2. zaidar61s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
  3. Max. macrumors member

    Max.

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #3
    That's normal with any unlocked device, the phone has to activate with the carrier and Apple via iTunes.
     
  4. zaidar61s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #4
    the thing is my friend who has a unlocked iphone 4 can put any sim inside his iphone and it will work without plugging it in itunes.

    any more help/advice would really be appreciated
     
  5. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I believe that's the difference between factory unlocked and ultrasn0w unlocked.
     
  6. zaidar61s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #6
    it isnt ultra snow unlocked, its on version 4.2.1 and its come direct from apple as a replacement
     
  7. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #7
    i think he was getting at your friend's is ultrasn0w unlocked, and yours isn't, hence why yours still need activating
     
  8. zaidar61s thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #8
    thanks again for your response.

    both iphones are jail broken as i jail broke mine today, he used greenpois0n i used limera1n. again both phones are factory unlocked. just that his doesn't need to be connected to itunes after putting a new sim, and mine does.

    if a sim has been activated with my iphone it can be used again without the need of activating. but my friends doesn't need that done in the first place which saves more time.
     

Share This Page