iPhone 4 cannot see 5GHz N Router

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by T4R06, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    I just bought linksys E2000 from BB and I am disappointed why the only iPhone 4 is not seeing my router from 5ghz setting! I havent tried yet the iPad..

    I guess I will stick with g and n combo..
     
  2. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    the iphone only does 2.4Ghz, that is the reason why it won't see it. what you need is a dual N router that does 2.4Ghz an 5Ghz
     
  3. iAmYou macrumors 6502

    iAmYou

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  4. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #5
    E2000 does not have simultaneous dual band 802.11n. Return it for E3000 or AEBS.
     
  5. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #6
    I have an Airport Extreme router, and I can only get on my G network with my iPhone 4. My Macs (iMac and MacBook Pro) don't have a problem getting on my N network. How do you set up a 2.4Ghz N network on an Airport Extreme? I have simultaneous G and N networks, but I was unaware that I could also have simultaneous 2.4 and 5GHz N networks.
     
  6. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    i don't think the airport extreme is dual band, thought it was either 2.4 or 5ghz
     
  7. smithrh macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #8
    Newer versions are indeed not only dual band but simultaneous. Had one for about a year, works great.
     
  8. T4R06 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #9
    Luckily I bought dual. Modded already with DD-WRT
     
  9. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #10
    I used DD-WRT on my Linksys routers but I found the convenience of the Airport Extreme much more useful e.g. it alerts me when something is wrong.
     
  10. psxguru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #11
    If you have a newer AEBS then hold down option when clicking on radio mode in the airport utility. This will give you the full choice of 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz frequency combinations.
     
  11. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #12
    Post like these are the reason why I enjoy coming the MacRumors forums, I had no idea that holding down the option key gave me more options to configure my AEBS frequency combo, this had been bugging me since I got my iPhone 4 and I could not get it to connect to my N network.

    the daily post of "When is the iPhone 4 coming to Verizon", "When will the white iPhone 4 be released" and "I'm not buying an iPhone until..." contribute nothing to the forum, but this was a helpful, thank you psxguru
     
  12. mrow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #13
    Sorry to dig up an old thread but are there any more hidden options like this? This let me set my AEBS radio exactly how I wanted it and I'm wondering if there are any more tricks like this one.
     
  13. ulbador, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

    ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #14
    I have a two year old Airport Extreme Base and it contains many configuration options via the stock software. (though I don't know what exactly you are looking to do) Clicking the pictured edit button allows you to set separate 2.4/5 GHZ frequency options.

    These are the options available
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mrow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #15
    Yeah but holding option and clicking it gives you even more options. I'm looking for things like that.
     

Share This Page