iPhone iPhone 4 downgrade from 6.1.2 to 5.1.1.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by occollegeboi420, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. occollegeboi420 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #1
    I have shsh blobs saved for 5.1.1 on cydia's server.

    Using redsnow, I made a custom firmware by stitching together the ipsw for 5.1.1 and the shsh blob from cydia's server.

    EVERY SINGLE TIME I try to restore in itunes, pointing it to the custom firmware, I ALWAYS get the error, "This device isn't eligible for the requested build."

    What is the problem? I've tried everything, and I've done a ton of google searches and have tried everything. I just want this phone back on 5.1.1 before ios 6 made my phone slow.
     
  2. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  3. occollegeboi420 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #3
    I just installed the most recent, 12.0.1.26 I'm using an imac on mavericks.
     
  4. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #4
    Well, you have your answer already....You can't use latest version of iTunes for downgrade. You need an older version, max. 11.0.5, even better some version 10.x.x.
     
  5. occollegeboi420 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #5
    I made a partition for leopard 10.5.8 and I did use itunes version 10.6 and it STILL gave me the SAME error message. I'm at a loss.

    ----------

    THIS did NOT work. Jesus christ, apple is pissing me off. I just want this dang phone back on 5.1.1.
     
  6. occollegeboi420 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #6
    I am now getting error 21 in itunes and my phone is in recovery mode. How do I get it out?
     
  7. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #7
    Sorry for this comment, but on 5.1.1 almost none of the Apps work today. My daughter has i4 on 7.1.2 and she doesn't complain....OK, I know it's a bit slower than on 5.1.1, but it is still fully functional. i4 was always my favorite iPhone, but the hardware is more than 4 yeas old, so there isn't much you can do about it.
    In any case, the tutorials should work. Could be something wrong with the blobs you have. Unfortunately iFaith doesn't work on a MAC, I can't recall any other tool doing the same thing on a MAC.

    Try with TU, or put it into DFU and try custom restore again.
     
  8. kaielement macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #8
    To this point might just be time to upgrade your phone it self to a new phone.
     
  9. occollegeboi420 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #9
    Ok everyone, I DID upgrade to a nexus 5. I ONLY use my old iphone 4 as an ipod touch.

    I also want to keep my iphone as a back up phone.

    I don't care about apps. I ONLY want a smooth os, not a slow one.

    I got my phone out of recovery body with recbook. Thank god.

    ----------

    Put phone in dfu mode, got error 1600 on itunes.
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    Your phone needs to be in PWNed DFU mode to restore to a custom firmware
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Everyone thinks its a walk in the park to downgrade.
    Even with saved SHSH blobs you need to research, learn what you're doing and why you're doing it and follow directions.
    The OP obviously doesn't even know the basics trying to downgrade a phone and using the latest itunes version....
     
  12. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #12
    Doesn't ios 6 run fine on a 4? It did for me on 6.1.3
     
  13. occollegeboi420 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #13
    I DID put it into pwned dfu mode. Same freaking errors.

    ----------

    You know, I DID do the research. Please don't be rude. It's not my fault apple makes these things difficult. This is what pissed me off enough to switch to android. At least with android if I reset it, it will just be on the same os version as it was before I reset it. I like that on android you only get an update if you actually do the ota UPDATE. You can CHOOSE whether or not to update.

    ----------

    It does run fine, but it's slower and more glitchy than it was on 5.1.1. I always get low ram when I'm doing ANYTHING. On 5.1.1 I always had at least 150mg of free ram no matter what I was doing.
     

Share This Page