iPhone 4 ISSUES Help PLEASE !!!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by groovs, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. groovs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    i have an iPhone 4 iOS 4.0 baseband 1.59.00 Model MC608LL

    I have a few undermentioned issues, grateful if someone can help.

    1. I do not have my SHSH keys saved for 4.0, i want to reinstall 4.0 is it possible ?

    2. If i can get 4.0 again .what is the best method to JB, Greenpoison, limerain or jailbreakme ???

    2. is the new activation method SAM good to use with iphone 4 ?

    3. I am facing invalid SIM and No service issue a lot dont know what seem to be the problem the JB or the unlock ??? ANy suggestions / ideas ? i think the issue is in the software and not the hardware as it is a brand new phone i bought recently .... manufactured in week 29 of 2010 as per the serial number.

    i am very worried , all the help will appreciated.

    Regards,
    Groovs
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    1. No
    2. you cannot get to 4.0 without shsh's.
    Yes you can use SAM with an iphone 4.
    What shsh's you have saved on file?
    I'd suggest a restore and rejailbreak and unlock.
    Also make sure you cut the sim correctly to microsim size for your iphone 4 cause if it dont sit right you might have issues like that.
     
  3. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #3
    only shsh i have saved are 4.2 and 4.2.1 :( as its a new phone so previous hashes were not saved.

    Also how to activate the phone the phone for the first time if you do not have the original carrier SIM ? JB can be done through limerain or jailbreakme ..but in order to run the JB you need the phone to be activated / hacktivated first ??

    I checked the SIM it is cut correctly.

    What are the chances that the phone is faulty ?? Its a brand new phone :(
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    So pretty much you can only restore to 4.2.1 cause thats the only shsh you have saved.
    You can activate with any of the carriers sims that the phone is locked to or you can hactivate by running redsnow. But currently the 4.2.1 JB is tethered so be aware of that also.
    Im not sure if its faulty or not but it might also be a problem with the software like the JB or unlock.
    Currently there is no unlock for the baseband on 4.2.1 so be carefull what you do cause you might be stuck without a usable iphone.
     
  5. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #5
    hmmmm ... How about if i just run SAM for now ??
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Right now you're on 4.0 but not activated at all you're said?
    You're just stuck on the connect to itunes logo?
     
  7. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #7
    No No ...

    i am on 4.0 and iphone is working.
    i was thinking to run the SAM as it may solve the in valid SIM / no service issue. as there may be something wrong with the way it was JB belfore.

    is there any way to find out how the iphone was JB ??
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    SAM has nothing to do with the sim error about no service and invalid sim.
    S.A.M. is just for push notifications and nothing do with the unlock or simcard.
     
  9. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #9
    If your iPhone 4 is on 4.0 and jailbroken, then it was jailbroken by www.jailbreakme.com via Safari on the iPhone.

    (Only jailbreak at the time).
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Exactly.
    So it means it was activated with an official sim.
    You dont need SAM since your push notifications system is solid.
     
  11. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #11
    Genius Greek to the rescue :eek:
     
  12. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #12


    hmmm then that means it must have been activated using the original SIM ... cause you cant run jailbreakme without activating first .

    BTW tell me can i reinstall 4.0 using redsnow ?
     
  13. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #13
    Redsn0w is used to jailbreak, not install firmwares. Like my bud said in his posts, you need the shsh blobs for 4.0 to restore.


    Do you even have ultrasn0w installed? 3G off? Is your sim card even activated? Correct baseband still?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Lol :D
    Listen to what both of us Greeks are telling you.
    You cannot restore to 4.0 without shsh's.
    And redsnow does not reinstall or restore firmware, itunes does that.
    Redsnow just jailbreaks the firmware thats on your phone already.
     
  15. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #15


    Ahhhhhh well i am stuck for a while now then aint I ..

    Yes ultrasnow is installed, 3g is off sim card is activated.... i am in a country where there is no official carrier ....

    its just that my phone goes to no service / invalid sim randomly anytime during the day .... i hav eto restart it , go airplane mode on off reset network setting to get it back ..... that is why i was wondering if it is a software or a hardware problem :(
     
  16. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #16
    Maybe, it's the area you're in. I have the same issues sometimes and I am not unlocked in the U.S. with AT&T.
     
  17. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #17
    As i am using an unofficial SIM do you think doing the SAM thing will help ?

    Also i just noticed have a patch installed from cyida called carrier reset fix .... what does that do exactly and how do u think if this fits into that situation at all ??
     
  18. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #18
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Try removing that patch "carrier reset fix" and see if that helps or improves your situation with the sim getting no service.
    Also what company's simcard are you using? If you're not using Tmobile USA you can leave 3G on so check on that also.
     
  20. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #20
    i also noticed just now that when i go to Settings -> phone on the top field MY NUMBER it says unknown and i cant even change it ????? :confused:
     
  21. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
  22. groovs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #22
    can someone help on this please ?
     

Share This Page