iphone 4, malfunctioning home button (not the typical problem)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by untrustus, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. untrustus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #1
    Alright for starters, this is not a sticky home button, a home button that occasionally works or a mechanical issue.
    My home button seems click on and off and random intervals of no longer than 2 seconds. I'll be in an app, press the home button and get no response. then 5 seconds later it'll go into voice control, go to the home screen, go back to voice control, the multitask bar will appear for a second and then return to voice control. It will do any combination of what I just mentioned and sometimes also includes, immediately closing an app multiple times in a row, taking screen shots when I try to unlock my phone and going to the search bar.
    I know this is not a hardware issue because upon restoring my phone in an attempt to solve this issue I had to place my phone into dfu mode multiple times. for those not familiar, this process involves holding down the home button for a measured amount of time and would not work if home button was sporadically pressing on and off.
    It's probably a firmware issue but upon restore I upgraded from iOS 5 to 5.1 and the problem still persists. any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm really at a a loss.
     
  2. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Did you set up as new, or restore from a backup?
     
  3. untrustus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #3
    I restored from a backup. Though I'm begining to accept that I'm probabaly going to have to start from scratch.
     
  4. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Probably! Something may be corrupted and causing it to happen.
     
  5. untrustus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #5
    Alright, just restored it as a new phone but the problem remains. I just don't get it :/
     

Share This Page