iPhone 4 outgoing caller ID displaying wrong city

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by TravisG06, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. TravisG06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #1
    First off, hello everyone. I'm new to the forums and just got 2 iphone 4's for me and my fiance.

    I have a question for you all. When I make an outbound call, it shows up on my dad and fiance's iPhones as the wrong city. It says my number is an adjacent city to where I actually am. I activated this phone in my hometown so I'm not sure why it's showing a city, that's much smaller than my hometown by the way. Anyone know how to change that?
     
  2. draz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #2
    It is just a general idea of where the number is calling from. It isn't meant to be 100% accurate.

    Nothing wrong with your number or your fiance's phone. It is just Apple and what they have set to display for that area code.

    Eg: My phone number doesn't say Toronto, it says Ontario, Canada... which is a pretty big area... LOL
     
  3. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    What is it showing and where is your billing address located?
     
  4. TravisG06 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #4
    It's showing Boonville, IN and I'm in Evansville, IN

    Here's the difference between the two.

    http://www.mapquest.com/maps?1c=Eva...&2s=IN&2y=US&2l=38.049198&2g=-87.2742&2v=CITY

    I mean, Evansville is the third-largest city in Indiana and Boonville, is a really small town, it kind of bothers me because we tend to insult residents of boonville as being the "hicks" that Indiana and Kentucky take the bad rep for being.
     
  5. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #5
    Mine does that too. Have you ever ported your number from that city?

    That's what I did, and I've always assumed it was related.
     
  6. TravisG06 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
  7. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #7
    I don't think that is out of the ordinary. The city mine shows is about 60 miles away from me.
     
  8. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #8
    Weird.

    If it bothers you, call AT&T and see if they can fix it.
     
  9. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #9
    I don't think it is fixable unless you want to get a new number. I believe the city displayed is based on the area code and prefix. If you look it up on this web site (http://www.thedirectory.org/pref/) then you will see the city that is displayed.
    I wish the Caller ID could display the name, just like the caller ID on a landline does.
     
  10. gtmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #10
    I agree with this. I don't think this is an apple issue I believe this is based as said above on area code and prefix. You can look it up online and it will tell you the city associated.

    Go to areacodes.com and enter your area code and prefix.
     
  11. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #11
    Yes that is the reason the only way for it to say the proper city would be change phone numbers.
     
  12. Eldiablojoe macrumors 6502a

    Eldiablojoe

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    West Koast
    #12
    Ummm, Pot calling the kettle black? I mean, it's ALL the same region right? I mean, not NY, not LA, right? :D
     
  13. TravisG06 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #13
    Yeah, the area code is fine, but apparently the prefix is what singles me out to this weird city. Now I'm pissed off at Best Buy. They gave me a list of numbers to choose from and they all had the same area code and prefix so that means everyone shopping in there is getting out of town numbers.
     
  14. trekkie604 macrumors 65816

    trekkie604

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #14
    No, not area code, the prefix. (XXX) YYY - ZZZZ. Y's are the prefix.

    Check yours here:
    http://www.localcallingguide.com/lca_prefix.php

    NPA = Area Code
    NXX = Prefix

    leave the other fields blank.
     
  15. Block macrumors 6502a

    Block

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #15
    It's based on your area code and first three digits of your phone number. That determines the county your phone number is located in and the local city.

    http://phones.whitepages.com/XXX-XXX

    Replace XXX-XXX with your Area Code and first three digits of your phone number and you'll get the exact location your phone number is based off of.
     
  16. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #16
    Uhm? Really?
    The iphone in the US and Canada shows you the city the number belongs to?
    I guess that would be far less useful in europe since here we use different area codes for mobile devices and differentiate between fix and cell calls but still.. that's a cool feature!!
     

Share This Page