iPhone 4 plays AppleTV encoded videos

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by the-oz-man, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. the-oz-man macrumors 6502

    the-oz-man

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    I've been waiting to test this out for months now to see if this upgraded phone could pull the ultimate for my particular home theater setup. I use handbrake to encode my DVD and Blu-ray collection and since I'm not big on watching things on the go and would much rather have a great picture and 5.1 audio, I use the AppleTV preset and not the universal. Before neither the 3G or 3GS would play this format, but to my extreme happiness the iPhone 4 comes through with brilliant playback. This means that I don't have to bother with two different files again! I tested my most recent encodes and they are perfect. Anyone else to test this out?
     
  2. BladesOfSteel macrumors regular

    BladesOfSteel

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    St. Paul
    #2
    Not that it matters much at this point, but I have been able to play my "apple TV" encoded movies on my 3GS with no issues.

    However, I haven't tried a blu-ray rip yet, only DVD.
     
  3. davekarn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #3
    Hmmm only my digital copies from purchased BluRay movies transferred over, none of my others. Are you using the legacy setting?
     
  4. the-oz-man thread starter macrumors 6502

    the-oz-man

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    Handbrake's AppleTV setting. No tweaks at all.
     
  5. davekarn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #5
    Oh ok...I was just curious because I always use the AppleTV Legacy preset now as opposed to the preset up top under the "Apple" tab. Wondering if there was a difference between the two in terms of encoding and compatibility
     
  6. davekarn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #6
    Do you mind telling me which AppleTV preset you use? I'd like to make changes if need be...because they also don't work on my iPad. Thanks for the help.
     
  7. the-oz-man thread starter macrumors 6502

    the-oz-man

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #7
    I use the standard Handbrake AppleTV settings. Oh if it helps, I use the mac program instead of the windows one. I had all kinds of problems before I switched! :rolleyes:
     
  8. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #8
    I found out when I got my iPad that none of my HandBrake 0.9.2 files from 2008 worked on it, though they all sync to my Apple TV, so I started the process of re-encoding them all with the Apple TV preset in 0.9.4 and they work great. I tested one out last night to find out they also work on the iPhone 4, which I expected because the video tech specs are the same as the iPad - h.264 Main Level 3.
     
  9. the-oz-man thread starter macrumors 6502

    the-oz-man

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #9
    I suspected this, but wasn't that hopeful to tell the truth. But I couldn't be more happy to know that I don't have to do anything to my current library to have them portable now. This might be the best iPhone 4 feature for me! (all other cool features aside).
     
  10. davekarn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #10
    Guess I'll need to stop using the Legacy preset it sounds like. Thanks for the info!
     

Share This Page