iPhone 4 redsn0w issue

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cdg1012, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. cdg1012 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #1
    Hello all,

    Trying to re-jailbreak an iPhone 4 on the latest firmware with Redsn0w 0.9.8b2. The process was successful the first time around, but ended up later restoring with iTunes for a fresh start. Everything was working great until I opened up Redsn0w to jailbreak. Instead of going through the entire process to enter DFU mode, the process flashed on the screen for a mere second while I held the power button, and attempted to jump straight to jailbreaking. Only two seconds later it advised me that an 'unknown error' had occurred, and that I should try another USB port, which also didn't work.

    After rebooting and connecting to iTunes, iTunes detected TWO iPhone's connected, although there was realistically only ONE. The top iPhone is the usual, showing all of the phone's information, while the second iPhone is detected in DFU mode, displaying no information (no capacity/software version/serial number).

    My theory is that Redsn0w is detecting the second "Ghostphone" in DFU and skipping straight to jailbreaking, only to find that the iPhone isn't really there. How would I get Redsn0w to detect the ACTUAL iPhone, or how would I be able to get rid of the "Ghostphone" altogether?

    I usually navigate around this forum, among others, to find information and troubleshoot on my own, but after searching for hours decided to finally create an account and ask. Thanks to everyone on here. I know I'm new, but everyone has helped me in years past many, many times without knowing.
     
  2. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #2
    Hi and welcome to the forums.


    I don't choose to jailbreak personally but I'm sure a member in the know will be along shortly.

    Good luck.
     
  3. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You need to tell firmware
    Edit : he said latest ok., my bad :-/
     
  4. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #4
    Can you use jailbreakme.com instead? It's way easier.
     
  5. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    He said latest. 4.3.4 = no jbme.
     

Share This Page