iPhone 4 setup - do I restore from 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by derekg, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. derekg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #1
    Upgrading from iPhone 3GS, what's the recommended approach to get all the apps/data to iPhone 4? Restore from 3GS backup or set up as new and load apps/music/etc. separate?
     
  2. don pianta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #2
    i'm using my 3gs backup... if my MMS and voicemail still dont work i'll do a restore and start as a new phone
     
  3. jasperk99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #3
    they will work
     
  4. don pianta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #4
    well my voicemail, MMS, and facetime are all broken with my backup from my 3GS (jailbroken)

    i'm going to start it as a new phone... i've never done this so i just assume i port all of my info like pictures, apps, music and contacts from itunes?
     
  5. LordOBoogie macrumors 6502a

    LordOBoogie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #5
    I restored using my backup from my 3GS, and everything is exactly as it was on my 3GS. The texts are there, the voicemails, everything.
     
  6. onemacmini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #6
    I restored from my 3G and for some reason have no apps transferred! :S
     
  7. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #7
  8. vabunuc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    #8
    Did you disconnect your phone while it was restarting? After it restores it syncs all your apps pics and other stuff.
     
  9. myfoneisdank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #9
    can you set up as new phone and use windows contacts that have synced with itunes to get the contacts on the i4?

    i dont want to restore from backup but i need my contacts. dont care about anything else
     
  10. TroyBoy30 macrumors 68000

    TroyBoy30

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
    #10
    I setup as new and got my contacts sent down from mobile me. simply signed up for the trial and then canceled
     
  11. Googlyhead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #11
    I have that problem quite often.
    Fixing is simple though: Simply select 'restore from backup' a second time. (contex menu from the iphone entry in the left itunes pane)

    Seems that if it's a fresh install, the first restore installs the settings, the second plonks the apps on.
     
  12. Trundle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #12
    You will have to re-establish PW that you previously had.

    VVM WiFi etc.
     
  13. tilnaneer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
    I backed up my old iPhone 3G that was running iPhone OS3.2 lastnight. About an hour ago I traded in the 3G for credit at radioshack and got my new iPhone 4. What will happen if I restore my iPhone 4 from that backup?
     
  14. markel253 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #14
    I just updated my new iPhone 4 with this morning's backup of my 3G.

    Everything come through fine ... just had to re-enter a few passwords.
     
  15. vertigomhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #15
    i started fresh, the only thing really important to me was my contacts , so I synced iTunes to my google account and got all my contacts on the 4.

    everything else I'll manually download :(
     
  16. derekg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #16
    Thanks for the replies. I took the "restore from 3GS backup" route and so far so good (just had to reenter email and v-mail passwords).
     
  17. gopherhockey macrumors regular

    gopherhockey

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #17
    Someone in another thread said they did this and they were no longer able to run facetime. ANyone seen this? Concern being any iPhone 4 features don't run on the new phone after restoring 3GS backup.

    ... forget it, saw you have to enable it in the settings.
     
  18. markel253 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #18
    Where in the settings do you enable it?

    Nevermind - I found it - under PHONE.
     
  19. ronniedobbs macrumors newbie

    ronniedobbs

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #19
    i did a backup of my 3GS last night before restoring the new phone to it, and it remembered everything; address book, text messages, even where i left off on Plants vs. Zombies! LOL
     
  20. GeekAhead macrumors member

    GeekAhead

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    BK NY
    #20
    After restore... there is no facetime option ... it is not in setting > phone. I want to keep my camera roll and everything.
     

Share This Page