iPhone 4 Verizon use in Thailand?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by lrittz, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. lrittz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,

    Didn't realize iPhone 4 Verizon doesn't have a removable sim card like it's ATT brother...

    Plan to go to Thailand, and wanted to jailbreak and buy a SIM at airport to use phone/text/apps regularly...

    Am I at a loss and can't use my iPhone 4 Verizon at all in Thailand? Some website list Bangkok as CDMA capable, many older sites say its GSM.. can I do anything to use my apps and phone in Thailand?

    Thanks much..

    ----------

    PS any suggestions on doing anything besides turning off roaming in Thailand??

    I'd hate to be shocked by a bill of $10k or so like those newstories since I left my iPhone open in my pocket without realizing it was receiving email, or using international network when idle. Many thanks again.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    The CDMA iphone 4 doesnt have a sim slot at all so I dont know how you think you can JB and unlock it and buy a sim there. You have nowhere to stick it:)
    Call up Verizon and they will tell you if they have a partner network there that your cdma phone will roam on. But chances are its going to cost you an arm and a leg so you'd be better off buying a local cheap flip phone with prepaid minutes there to use for the trip.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Use it with WiFi only.
     
  4. lrittz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #4
    thanks ill probly use that in the hotel while there...

    im such a noob, will Verizon charge me thousands for using wiFi while overseas or is that only if i use roaming?

    how do I turn off roaming on a Verizon iPhone 4, all the tutorials are for ATT phones..

    do I need to do anything with verizon (ie call them to stop service) to ensure I dont rack up bill$$ unintentionally while leaving my iPhone open in Thailand? Thanks
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Verizon will only be able to charge you for roaming.
     

Share This Page