iPhone 4 W/O Baseband! (Wifi and Bluetooth work)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by luigismartphone, May 26, 2013.

  1. luigismartphone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Florence, Italy
    #1
    Hi guys, I have a carrier locked iPhone 4. I bought it on eBay months ago and it was locked and upgraded to the last firmware (iOS 5.1.1) so I can't unlock it.
    I took it to a shop that made a BASEBAND DOWNGRADE (they replaced the baseband chip) so I had iPhone 4 with baseband 01.59.00 which I can unlock with Ultrasn0w.
    It worked for two months until Apple released iOS 6.1 and Dev Team the untethered jailbreak for this firmware.
    I upgraded my iPhone with a custom firmware created with Sn0wbreeze (so it preserve the baseband) and unlocked it with Ultrasn0w.
    I found that the signal with iOS 6.1 was very poor, so I downgraded my iPhone to iOS 5.1.1.
    It worked for a week, than my iPhone showed this error: Restore needed. iPhone cannot make or receive phone calls (http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2430?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US).

    I tried restoring iOS 5.1.1 and also iOS 6.1 but the problem persist.

    Now I restored to iOS 6.1.3 with tethered jailbreak but the problem still exist.

    I found that I have NO Firmware modem in Settings -> Info and also if I deal *#06# there is NO IMEI number.

    I searched on Google but all posts I found are related with NO BASEBAND, NO WIFI AND NO BLUETOOTH. But in my iPhone 4, Wifi and bluetooth still work.

    I guess that my iPhone is without baseband at the moment, so is there a way to flash only the baseband? I need to flash an unlockable baseband since my iPhone is carrier unlocked.

    What can I do? :confused:
     
  2. MrMacMack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #2
    Honestly, that's the first I have heard of anyone replacing the baseband chip. Perhaps take it back to that same shop and see what they can do?
     
  3. luigismartphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Florence, Italy
    #3
    I did it in China and now I am in Italy, so I can't take it back to the shop :(
     
  4. MrMacMack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #4
    Unless someone else has ideas its not looking too good.
     
  5. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #5
    probably your baseband came loose due to bad soldering or it broke down. This is the first I have heard of this, but I can confirm it is a service performed on iphone 4's in China.

    A full DFU restore in 6.1.3 does nothing? Then I am not sure if you can do anything short of trying to replace baseband again by yourself.

    Try your luck at an apple store and see if you can pay for an out of warranty replacement?
     
  6. MrMacMack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
  7. luigismartphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Florence, Italy
    #7
    I can't do a full restore because it's CARRIER LOCKED and I have to unlock it. So I tried many times restoring with custom firmwares created with Sn0wbreeze.

    I think I can't take to Apple Store because it isn't an Italian iPhone.

    Now I want to know if it's possible to flash a lower baseband like the 01.59.00 in order to unlock it.

    If it isn't possible, I'll use it as an iPod :banghead:
     
  8. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #8
    its not possible to flash lower baseband. This is why a new baseband chip had to be soldered on for you.

    Thus, restore. IF it gets its baseband back, you can use a gevey sim imposer to unlock it and use it as a phone. I mean, if you are already resigned to using it as an ipod, then the firmware doesnt matter.

    Where is the phone from? if you do get it fixed, I would recommend looking up an IMEI unlocker and see if you can unlock it that way.
     

Share This Page