iPhone 4 won't restore..iTunes errors, boot loop?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by IBradMac, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I have been pulling my hair out trying to restore my iPhone. I have the latest version of Tiny Umbrella, and the latest version of iTunes.

    My current firmware is 4.1 and I have tried to restore 4.1 factory and also the latest update from apple. Neither has worked.

    When I try to restore I get several different error codes including 1013, 21, and a couple of others I can't quite remember.

    What am I doing wrong here?!
     
  2. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #2
    In TU, do you have 4.1 SHSH saved? Inside TU, click in the phone you are trying to restore, and in the middle box, is 4.1 listed?
     
  3. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Yep. Sure do. I tried this and finally, JUST now was able to update to 4.2. Now I need to go back to 4.1. How do I do that? I've never downgraded? :eek:
     
  4. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    In TinyUmbrella hit "start tss server" > close/reopen iTunes > put iphone in DFU mode > restore via 4.1 ipsw.
     
  5. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    I don't have to edit any hosts files or anything like that beforehand?
     
  6. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    You can either edit the host files or use TinyUmbrella TSS server.
     
  7. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    Both ways didn't work.
     
  8. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #8
    Try different USB cable, USB port, shutdown security programs, and if all else fails, try another computer.
     
  9. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    Since my hashes are not saved on another computer I really don't see how I could use a different one.
     
  10. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #10
    The hashed are also saved on Cydia when you use Tinyumbrella to save them. Thus, on another computer, just use Tinyumbrella to request and save them again from Cydia.
     
  11. IBradMac thread starter macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    I used a different computer to downgrade. I don't know how I did it but it worked. weird.
     
  12. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #12
    Its something on your other computer, hardware or software. If you think about it, every computer could be unique base on what hardware and software are install in it.
     

Share This Page