iphone 4s a5 clock speed??????

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by robbie12345, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. robbie12345 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Hi im kind of new to the forums but i was just curious i heard that the a5 chip on the 4s is actually under clocked to 680mhz, also how is it bench mark wise (not graphics becus obviously iPhone graphics reign supreme! :) ) against the samsung gs2
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    I thought I read somewhere that the iPhone 4S was clocked at 800MHz but I could be wrong. Benchmarks mean nothing, user interface/experience means everything.
     
  3. MultiMediaWill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
  4. RipsMctits macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
  5. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    not sure

    yeh i heard that too but every one thinks that is an assumption, becus the a4 was clocked at 800 mhz i saw an unboxing and speed test where they ran the geek bench test for iPhones and iPads nd it came to 679mhz I'm just wondering if that is correct or is that just a guess or something idk if geek bench is 100% accurate
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    If you look at the GeenBench site, you'll see many different clock speeds for the 4S. Starting with the iPhone 4, Apple has not allowed App Store apps from seeing the CPU's clock speed. Because of this, apps now have to guess it.
     
  7. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    what about benchmarks??? v s the competition

    what is the speed vs the competition like galaxy nexus and the gs2 and droid bionic
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Just because the iPhone 4 ran at 800MHz does not mean that for the iPhone 4S to be running at 800MHz is an assumption.
     
  9. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    so geekbench didn't no there clock speed thats really interesting actually and does anyone no the benchmarks plz
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    You can't accurately bench test two different operating systems on two different devices.
     
  11. robbie12345, Nov 5, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2011

    robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    not assumption

    yes i no but most sites just assumed that it ran at 800mhz from all of the reviews i read I'm not saying that its not clocked at 800mhz if thats what your saying

    ----------

    srry ur right cinebench is for graphics
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Let me quote myself here:

    For all the public knows, the iPhone 4S could run at 2Ghz. Its believed to run at 800Mhz and contain a dynamic clock frequency.
     
  13. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    but lets sy they were running the same operating system what about internet speeds and running same apps also does anyone have the 4s and the 4 at one point in time what is the speed of running apps between the 2

    ----------

    ok i get it now but can't geek bench tell what the processor is by checking the internals
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    There are lots of YouTube comparisons between the 4 and 4S.

    GeekBench can't see the clock speed. Apple is hiding it from App Store apps. If GeekBench was to run the command to retrieve the clock speed, it'd return all zeros. And obviously, the CPU isn't running at zero hertz.
     
  15. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    ok so its safe to believe that its running at 800mhz and did apple release the speed the a5 on the iPad was running at??
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    The iPad 2 is running at 1Ghz, but its is dynamically clocked and can run as low as 900Mhz to conserve battery life.
     
  17. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States

Share This Page