iPhone 4s only has 512MB of ram?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mo25, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. mo25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    I've read from multiple sources that the new iPhone only has 512MB of ram. Is this true? I was really considering this phone but I can't see myself buying it if it doesn't have at least 1GB. This phone gets bogged down VERY easily when you have multiple apps open and are browsing with multiple safari tabs. Even if you close some of the tabs and apps the memory leak is still present.
     
  2. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #2
    Apple does not announce those specs. We'll only know for sure one the iPhone 4 ships and a company like IFixIt does a tear down. I suspect it's 1GB though w/ Siri and the 1080p video.
     
  3. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You can't have multiple apps open at the same time.
     
  4. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4
    Reports are it has 1 gig ram. But, it honestly doesn't matter whether its 512 or 1 gig. The phone is\was and will be a nice upgrade from the older devices.
     
  5. HellDiverUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    #5
    No-one is forcing you to buy it, OP. If you don't like it, don't buy it, simple as that.
     
  6. nooaah macrumors 68000

    nooaah

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    Obviously an appropriate response to a legitimate concern.
     

Share This Page