Iphone 4S signal issues

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Decked, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. Decked macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #1
    I'm not sure what's going on but recieved my iphone 4s this morning and ever since I moved my sim into it, the signal is very sporadic.
    It goes from full signal, down to 1 bar then no service (for about 3 mins) and then back up to full signal (with no 3G). It's been doing this for over 3 hours now. I only get signal for about 25 seconds and I can't make calls....
    I have tested other sims and looks like I have a dud. I have my old iphone 4 running fine with another vodafone sim. I just can't get the 4S to work! :mad:
     
  2. iBreatheApple macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Did you try resetting network settings or putting it in airplane mode?
     
  3. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #3
    Can't......... resist................

    You're holding it wrong!

    Sigh, okay, back to the thread.
     
  4. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #4
    No problems here, it sounds like you are in a weak 3G area and it is switching to 2G and then picking 3G back up again.

    Have you tried turning 3G off in settings > general > network?

    The 3G option is not there on my 4S for some reason :confused:
     
  5. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #5
    Yeah, tried everything... Airplane mode, turn off 3G, etc.. turn phone off/on. Tried different sim cards, nothing.
     
  6. iBreatheApple macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Reset network settings? iOS restore. If nothing works, call Apple before they get hammered for the day and have the "don't want to deal with your problems" attitude.
     
  7. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #7
    Try to do a software restore. If you still have issues, I'd go ahead and exchange.

    Also, why did someone down vote your post? Lol.
     
  8. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #8
    My iphone 4 has full 3G, I always do in my house.
     
  9. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #9
    Ahhhhh! so yours has the switch for 3G on/off?
     
  10. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #10
    Just tried again and still nothing. Searching......
    Going to a restore. :confused:

    ----------

    No, Just noticed it's called "mobile data"
     
  11. Brodeh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #11
    Decked, I am experiencing exactly the same symptoms. I tried the obvious, reset, restore etc. I have a 4G (In a bumper) and 3GS both here working fine on the same network, the 4S however can't place a call, despite bing fine with 3G data.

    Not a great start.
     
  12. sgrrsh26 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Get it looked at
    I used a broken iPhone 3G without knowing it for 3 years.
     
  13. Nikefn2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #13
    Edge Network on 4S

    Hello all,

    I just received my 4S on ATT and I have a question.

    On previous iphones when you go into network you have an option to enable the 3G or turn it of. This option is not on the 4S or at least not on my phone.

    Did anyone else notice this??????????
     
  14. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #14
    Yep.
     

Share This Page