iPhone iphone 4s sprint activate failed

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by theone4488, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. theone4488 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    #1
    HI,

    I can't seem to activate my iphone 4s with the sprint sim card (it's not valid anymore since i canceled the contract) that came with it after I did a new restore.

    is it possible to unlock it for AT&T with gevey ultra you are selling without activating the phone with ori carrier sim?

    thanks.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  3. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #3
    The sprint sim card is for the data to work. At least data wouldn't work for me when I removed the sim card. Get a sim from another carrier to activate.
     
  4. theone4488 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    #4
    i'm trying with an att sim card but it's not working. im not sure whether im doing it right.

    is possible to unlock without activating with the ori carrier sim though?
     
  5. thabronx31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #5
    I just did this yesterday. I took my sprint 4S, ported my number from AT&T, received my gevey cdma sim, unlocked my iPhone, popped my AT&T sim in, and now I'm happily back to AT&T. The guy at AT&T was mad cool. I'm on the $50 plan, with unlimited everything, including data. I'm going to watch my data, because if I can stay on that, there's no way that price can be beat. I never knew I would miss AT&T so much. That, was a lesson learned :D
     
  6. brianbunge macrumors 6502

    brianbunge

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #6
    How is data working on an iphone with a prepaid plan?
     
  7. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #7
    I heard texting and mms does not work with gevey ultra s is that true?
     
  8. thabronx31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #8
    I haven't had any problems. I had to put the settings in for mms, but other than that, I'm good. I thought I would never say this, but I'm glad to be back on AT&T. Nothing like talking and surfing at the same time.

    ----------

    Just fine. Just fine :D
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    You do know that all iPads sold worldwide are unlocked except those from Softbank in Japan.
     
  10. thabronx31, Jul 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012

    thabronx31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #10

    That should've been jailbroken. Good looking out

    Just updated my sig. Thx again
     
  11. Simon23m macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    #11
    Visual voicemail

    Is your visual voicemail working? I did the same with my Sprint 4S back to AT&T but can't get my visual voicemail to work.
     
  12. thabronx31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #12

    Nah, visual vm has never worked for me. Even when I had my 3GS and 4 on prepay with AT&T. Never worked. Would be nice, but definitely not a deal breaker.
     

Share This Page