iPhone iPhone 4S was jailbroken, updated to iOS 6.1.3, now won't activate.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ahmorsy2, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. ahmorsy2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4S on AT&T. It was jailbroken and I decided I wanted to update my phone to the latest OS. The phone updated perfectly (apparently) but when I go to activate my phone, I can. I'm asked for Language, Country, I connect, and when I push to activate, I get the following error message:

    "Your iPhone could not be activated because the activation server is temporarily unavailable. Try connecting your iPhone to iTunes to activate it, or try again in a couple of minutes."

    This problem has persisted over several days, and I've seen several others across several carriers encounter the same problem. I've tried to activate over wi-fi, my cellular network, and iTunes. I put the phone back in DFU mode and restored it again on iOS 6.1.3, but to no avail.

    I took it to the Apple store and their "technician" tried to activate it and couldn't. He even put in a different SIM card and it still wouldn't activate. He told me that the phone is out of warranty (I have had it over a year) and would need to pay $199 to replace it without affecting my contract. That's a load of bollocks if all I did was connect my phone to perform a standard update in the first place.
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    Have you tried talking to AT&T? Maybe they can provide you with a new SIM card (assuming that is what's causing the activation to fail)
     
  3. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #3
    Having worked with a technician over a chat box we came to the conclusion that the phone is bricked. Any ideas on how to get it unbricked?
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    If you are able to boot up the phone to a state other than the apple logo, I wouldn't say it's bricked since to me, the word bricked means you cannot boot it up. If it's stuck on activation, I would imagine your phone is not connecting to the server (whichever server that is used to activate the phone)

    How about going to a local AT&T store?

    Did you ever download battery doctor pro from cydia when you were jailbroken? What firmware were you previously on?
     
  5. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #5
    Well there's some room for optimism. I have a feeling when I finally fessed up that the phone was jailbroken that the technician just gave up. I plan on taking it to the store tomorrow. I never downloaded battery doctor pro and I was jailbroken on 5.1.1. A couple days ago I randomly decided to update my phone to 6.1.3 and then this happened...

    Also, do you recommend I just NOT tell the reps at the store that it was jailbroken, because I feel like once the tech learned about it today he just threw his hands up...
     
  6. laudern macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #6
    Isn't there a way you can downgrade the phone to a lower iOS version? Why don't you try that?
     
  7. PhilMcCracken macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    I doubt your phone is bricked....If you told the tech you JB your phone he jumped to that conclusion and doesn't want to help you any more.

    Do you have another sim you can try? Have you removed the sim and put it back?
     
  8. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #8
    I've tried that several times using redsn0w, trying with both 5.1.1 and 6.1.2. All my attempts were met with error messages.
     
  9. jacobss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    So you're saying it was jailbroken and you just updated it? I think it would have been wiser to download the latest OS, set your phone in dfu mode and restore. Maybe that will fix your problem?
     
  10. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #10
    Yupp I've tried that. I think it's just being locked out of the network. I'll take it to the store tomorrow for them to unlock it and if they ask me if it was jailbroken I'll DENY DENY DENY...
     
  11. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #11
    i hope you updated via itunes and not using settings -> general -> updates

    and yes, i recommend you NOT telling the reps that you ever jailbroke it. pretend you never even heard of jailbreaking if you even want to
     
  12. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #12
    Unfortunately I DID update remotely using settings -> general -> updates :confused:
     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    If you are jailbroken, never update via settings, never click reset all settings & erase all content and settings. Update by restoring via iTunes, don't click "update"

    For the reset, you would put your iPhone into an infinite boot loop and your only option would be to restore

    For updating via OTA (over the air), I always thought it would mess up the phone (as in glitchy stuff) and would need to restore to fix it

    I don't think any of those two affect the activation process but I could be wrong
     
  14. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #14
    Duly noted
     
  15. Am3r1ca16 macrumors 6502a

    Am3r1ca16

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #15
    Let us know how it goes today.
     
  16. ahmorsy2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #16
    So they had no idea what to do with the phone. I'm mulling my options. Either I use a regular GSM phone and transfer my sim onto it or I upgrade to the Samsung Galaxy SIII for $199. The SIII for $199 is more enticing than an iPhone 4S for the same price.
     
  17. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #17
    Have you tried downloading the correct 6.1.3 IPSW from iClarified and then shift click DFU Restore as new? Maybe something funky is carrying over from a backup?
     
  18. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #18
    Put your phone in DFU mode then restore as NEW.
     
  19. digomd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #19
    Hi ahmorsy2, have you found the solution for your problem yet? I`ve got the same problem on a 3GS.

    Thank you!
     
  20. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    Do you have the 6.15.00 baseband? Downgrade it if so using redsn0w
     

Share This Page