iphone 4s without sim car to use as ipod ...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by davidcalvet, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. davidcalvet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    I got a working iphone4S from a friend.
    I wanted to used it as an iPod.
    But, my mistake, i did the "restore iphone" and now it does not want to work because it does not have a sim card, and I am stock at the beginning.
    I did the last install of IOS 7.01 just before that, because he ask for it.
    what can i do ?
    Thank you !:)
     
  2. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #2
    I use a 4S as a car iPod and I think you will need a working SIM to activate it. If that phone is locked to a network then the SIM will need to be for the same network.

    Once it's activated I think you can remove the SIM until the next time you need to restore or upgrade iOS. What I did though was get a PAYG SIM for free from my network and never put any money on it. I just leave that SIM in the 4S permanently.
     
  3. davidcalvet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    thanks you

    thank you, i will try to do so.
    But my fear is that in japana they would not alloud me to do it.
    but anyway, i will try.
    thanks !
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    cant it activate over wifi or through itunes without the SIM?
     
  5. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #5
    No. If you install a new version of iOS or restore from a backup, iPhones need a SIM to activate, even if just to use as an iPod. Once it's activated you can remove the SIM if you want. Maybe a jailbreak could get round this.
     
  6. davidcalvet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #6
    no, it can not ...

    ----------


    let's hope so.

    But is there a way to get a SIM card without going through a carrier ?
    I tried my wife's sim card (she has a iphone4s ) but the process stopped because the iphone is telling me that the sim card has already a number assigned.

    And by the way, thanks for your answer. I appreciate.
     
  7. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #7


    Just a guess, not sure if it'd work, but if all else fails perhaps try a prepaid SIM from TMobile? $10 off the shelf at Target or Walmart (if the store has the right size in stock) or less via ebay. TMO sometimes offers them up for $0.99 shipped; watch slickdeals.net or similar sites.
     
  8. davidcalvet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #8
    got it !

    It was as simple as puting in, a sim card from the same carreer of the phone.
    It was a locked phone (as all are in japan).

    thank you to all for your answers and concern
     

Share This Page