iPhone iPhone 4s wont reactivate after restoring to stock

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ChrisFitz9, Sep 24, 2012.

1. ChrisFitz9 macrumors member

Hey guys, im a little new at this whole forum thing, I am usually pretty good at figuring this stuff out on my own but I cant seem to get this one.

I was jailbroken on my Verizon iphone 4s on firmware 5.1.1 and wanted to return to stock to wipe everything out and upgrade fresh to iOS 6. I followed the steps to restore the phone and it successfully restored to a stock 5.1.1. I turned the phone on and had to go through the activation process and this is where I run into my problem.. the phone will not reactivate. ive tried through Celluar, WiFi and iTunes and havent had any luck. So when iOS 6 was released i thought maybe upgrading to that would solve my problem so i updated through Recovery and itunes to iOS 6 to no luck..still cant get the phone activated. any suggestions or Solutions would be great because im stumped and about to result to taking it to apple. thanks

2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

TriJetHero

Verizon phones don't need activation, did you restore with the CDMA firmware?

3. ChrisFitz9 thread starter macrumors member

Restored with firmware straight from apple and iTunes. when i turn the phone on it goes to the setup process asking what language, what county I am in and all that, then it goes to a screen that says Activate through celluar connection..click that and it tries to complete that and comes up with the message that apples activation servers are temporarily unavalible and wont go any farther.

4. Intell macrumors P6

Intell

Apple's servers may be overrun. Is there a SIM card in the phone? Are you in an area that gets good cellular coverage?

There's only one hardware model of the 4S and only one 4S firmware type.

5. ChrisFitz9 thread starter macrumors member

6. Intell macrumors P6

Intell