Iphone 5 150Mb/s Macbook 43 Mb/s Why?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Donfor39, Oct 5, 2013.

  1. Donfor39 macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #1
    As the title states

    Airport utilty IPhone 5 reports 150Mb/s Macbook 43Mb/s

    Nestspot from Macbook confirmed my Airport Extreme is running over 5GHZ range

    Is there a reason why the Iphone 5 gets the faster transfer rate?

    My preference would be the Macbook gets the faster rate for CC Cloner

    VM 30 MB broadband

    :confused:
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
  3. Donfor39, Oct 5, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2013

    Donfor39 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #3
  4. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #4
    2 things to investigate:
    - why don't you get connection to 5GHz band. I seem to have had similar behaviour with the Mac - after a while it seemed to fall back to 2.4GHz band. I gave 5GHz a different SSID and now connect explicitly to 5GHz WLAN.
    - try with different channels, both in 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands. WiFi Diagnostic tool (or alternatively NetSpot) will show you channel allocation at your location.
    http://www.wlanpros.com/wireless-diagnostics-utility-in-mac-os-x-10-8-4/
    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-57487340-263/apple-enhances-wi-fi-diagnostics-in-mountain-lion/
     
  5. John Kotches macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Troy, IL (STL Area)
    #5
    5 GHz doesn't carry as well through walls as 2.4 GHz does. That could be a contributing factor.

    Are these devices in the same location?

    Other networks on the 2.4GHz band can slow throughput as well so see if you can optimize 2.4 GHz performance by selecting an uncluttered channel. There are WiFi analyzer tools (I use one on my Android phone) to help optimize performance.
     
  6. Donfor39 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #6
    Thanks for the helpful reply's

    I've re run netspot which now shows macbook on 2.4ghz band ch1 where yesterday it shows the 5ghz band ch 100


    I think this is a Virgin Media 'superhub' issue as it 'auto switches 2.4-5ghz channels.

    so it's either a 'new superhub 2' or 'crawl' with 2.4ghz

    Cheers :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page