Iphone 5 3G Icon? (No LTE)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Robitaille01, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. Robitaille01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #1
    Okay I just picked up the new phone today...All works well, except I keep noticing my Iphone has the 3G icon on... I'm In Downtown Toronto,Canada and I am with Virgin Mobile (Bell) Which has LTE Service. The LTE option is Turned on ... Now should this logo be LTE or does it really matter? :confused:
     
  2. jamojamo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #2
    If you're in an area that has true LTE coverage it should say LTE.

    I have to be honest, I didn't see much delay in 3G vs. LTE over normal usage (like Trip Advisor or something like that) but my son who is on an ancient 3GS says he sees the difference. We didn't do any massive data movements though.

    Only time I noticed the speed was when we were in a rural area with Edge service - wow, so slow.
     
  3. SWODiphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #3
    After doing some reading it seems like you guys aren't the only ones...

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4328287?start=0&tstart=0

    Posted on September 22
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Call your carrier.
    Something they need to fix on their end.
     
  5. benji888 macrumors 65816

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Try giving your iPhone 5 a power cycle after you get it all set up.

    This solved an issue with the iPhone 5 not recognizing my AT&T Microcell (as well as others I saw online days ago)
     

Share This Page