iPhone 5: App to really get at the file system?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by jkauff, Oct 4, 2012.

1. jkauff macrumors member

I'm new to Apple and the iPhone 5. I uploaded some files that I just can't find. I downloaded a couple of File Manager apps, but they can't find them either. Is there an app that will let me browse the iPhone file system, or at least the directories where user files are stored?

2. FSMBP macrumors 68020

FSMBP

Not without Jailbreaking.

3. justperry macrumors 604

justperry

4. jkauff thread starter macrumors member

OK. I guess I should get used to the locked-down world of iOS. Thanks for your help.

5. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

MonkeySee....

Explain please.

6. scyap macrumors member

Only way would be to transfer data between apps

For example, iBooks (app) can read PDF files, and so does Safari

If you open a PDF document in Safari, you can tap it once to show the menu (I think it's at the top right corner), then tap on OPEN IN, then select iBooks.

This would send a copy (save as) of that PDF document in iBooks.

This method would work in many many types of apps, you could transfer files like videos, or images or documents.

I would suggest the app iFiles
    It has various ways of transferring files into the app and it could do basic file management such as renaming, duplicating, folders, simple editing (TXT), uploading and downloading from many sources such as WiFi transfer, FTP, dropbox, google docs, bluetooth transfer, winzip, FB, etc

I've been using it for years and its pretty amazing

7. FSMBP macrumors 68020

FSMBP

That seems like a very un-Apple way to save a simple PDF from a website.

I don't get why they don't make a dumbed-down simple filesystem like DropBox. It would only have access to your documents, videos, music, & pictures - that's it. It wouldn't show system files or anything else.