iPhone 5 connecting to iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by CD17, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. CD17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #1
    Hi I upgraded today from an iPhone 4S to an iPhone 5 as the 4S was playing up & the battery was struggling to last a day, I had the 4S since it was released, so has been really good.

    Anyway when I try to connect my iPhone 5 to iTunes I get a message saying

    "The iPhone 5" cannot be used because it requires iTunes version 10.7 or later, go to www.itunes.com to download the latest version of iTunes.

    So I went to www.itunes.com selected download iTunes 11 & it is taking hours, is this normal, I mean about 6 hours so far. I have loaded almost all of my content music, photo's, apps etc through WiFi just the playlists won't load until I connect to iTunes.

    Has anyone else had problems loading iTunes 11 ?

    BTW love the iPhone 5 :)
     
  2. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Nothing that long.
    It should be quick to download/upgrade.
    It's probably a PC problem but having said that I find anything iTunes related it so slow.
     
  3. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #3
    What sort of download speed are you getting from your ISP? This obviously has an enormous effect.
     
  4. anaqvi786 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    At iOS planet
    #4
    iTunes takes this long to download, it sucks. If you want to as of now, just backup to iCloud, and restore your iPhone 5 to that for now. Once iTunes downloads and you want to restore from a backup, you can do that if you want to.
     
  5. emscie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #5
    I am having the same issue with a new iphone. Is there any way to do the restore without iTunes. I have the Oder version of iTunes and my old Mac does not support a newer version. Since I wanna get rid of the phone, I would like to test factory unlock before putting it up for sale. Or is this not necessary if unlocked by att themselves? What do I need to do? I am a girl just growing frustrated with iphone :)
     

Share This Page