Carrier iPhone 5 EE UK 3G plan - Can't turn off 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by SSD-GUY, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. SSD-GUY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have an iPhone 5 on EE here in the UK. I'm on a normal 3G plan (no 4G) but I wish to turn off 3G to save battery life when I'm out, I normally turn it on when I need to browse etc however I only have the option to turn off LTE on my iPhone (even though I don't have a 4G plan)

    By turning off LTE I am still left with a 3G signal.

    I'm guessing this is a carrier issue. If I unlock my iPhone and put say an o2 simcard in there will I get the option to turn off 3G and then out my EE simcard back in?

    Regards,

    SSD
     
  2. Rosh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    EE uses only 3G network. Same as Three. Networks such as orange tmobile o2 use 2g and 3G networks and so are able to turn off 3G.
     
  3. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    There is no option on the iPhone 5 to turn off 3G. It's nothing to do with carriers. You can only turn off LTE. I'm with Orange/EE too.
    On my 3GS there is the option but on the 5 there isn't.
     
  4. nellisere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #4
    Not true. EE uses 2G aswell, my Mum's phone get's GPRS on EE. Because both T-Mobile/Orange and EE use the same carrier files, you will always get the LTE toggle but no 3G toggle, so there's no way to get the 3G toggle back unless you are jailbroken. It's something that you will have to try and ask EE to include in their carrier files, but it's highly unlikely that they'll listen.
     
  5. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #5
    No, this is incorrect as well. It has to do with your network and network profile settings. I am in China where there is no LTE, so I have the 3G toggle on my iphone 5. I cant say for sure about O2 or EE, but I know it is possible for iphone 5 to only have 3G toggle.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. anaqvi786 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    At iOS planet
    #6
    It depends on the carrier. EE doesn't support the carrier but your iPhone in china works with th toggle because they support it in the file
     
  7. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #7
    Your better off turning off location services
     
  8. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    No iam correct. EE Doesn't support this. I have LTE toggle whereas you have 3G.
     
  9. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #9
    Now we are getting into technicality because you stated it has nothing to do with the carriers and iPhone 5 cannot have a 3G toggle. I am just saying it can.

    Its ok. Bottom line for the OP is that he can't achieve this with EE. All is good.
     
  10. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #10
    Your original post was incorrect.

    An iPhone 5 can show a 3G or LTE toggle.

    It's up to the carrier to decide whether or not they are shown. EE chooses to disable the 3G toggle.
     
  11. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Thanks for that. Obviously EE have chosen not to have 3G as a toggle. I wish they did give this option :(
     

Share This Page