iPhone 5, iOS 7 Beta 3 - Personal Hotspot

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by iker42, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. iker42, Jul 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2013

    iker42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #1
    Just started working.... not on my plan but is allowing me to use it at will.

    Anyone else had this just "turn on" for them yet?
     
  2. fireitfox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #2
    Do you have unlimited data plan ?

    It does not work for me.

    Anyone have luck to turn on hotspot with unlimited data plan on ATT?
     
  3. iker42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #3
    Yes, I', grandfathered into the unlimited on ATT. This didn't working in beta 1 or 2 and I accidentally just tried it and BOOM, worked.
     
  4. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #4
    You can change your Title yourself...

    Click on Edit > Go Advanced...that will give you access to your title, which you can then change.:D
     
  5. fireitfox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #5
    Can you please share the settings if any required to turn on the hotspot?

    When I try it gives a pop up to call ATT #

    If it works will be a boon #
     
  6. iker42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #6
    Thank you!!! Sorry I'm from a forum where this is not allowed.

    ----------


    Thats what I'm saying. I no longer get the message.
     
  7. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Don't leave it on when you're not using it. The impact on the battery is significant unlike Wifi. ;)
     
  8. airbelchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #8
    someone please tell me the secret. im going an a week long trip to the stane age... or my grandparents house. no internet there!!!!! i need my internet on my laptop. i have an iphone 5 i would love to be able to use a wifi hotspot from my phone
     
  9. 0dev macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Your network needs to enable the feature on your phone. If they haven't done that you need to use a jailbreak to get a third party tethering app, but good luck doing that on iOS 7.
     
  10. fireitfox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #10
    I assume the OP got it without JB and ATT does not provide hotspot on unlimited plan.

    I assume OP has some unknown setting which gives the option to enable hotspot on iphone 5.

    Will be nice to know about that setting.
     
  11. iker42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #11
    Yeah, what I am saying is I do not have the hotspot plan and prior to last night, it would give me the messages saying contact ATT.

    HOWEVER.

    Last night and im assuming since I upgraded to beta 3, I have use of the hotspot without the plan. guess it is just a glitch
     

Share This Page