iPhone 5 Replacement Issues

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by triscuitbiscuit, Sep 14, 2013.

  1. triscuitbiscuit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #1
    I was having issues with my original iPhone 5 constantly losing signal. I did all the troubleshooting steps and it still kept popping up. I brought it into the Apple Store and although they replaced it, they basically told me I was lucky because there was no diagnostic data on it due to me restoring it so many times.

    The new replacement phone is constantly losing signal again. If I hold it, it drops 2-3 bars. If I place it down, it will have 'No Signal' after a while. My brother's iPhone 5 has none of these problems so I know it is not the location. When I first got it, I restored it a couple of times because I noticed I was having problems right out of the box. Should I try bringing it in again? I know they'll just tell me to restore it and from there waste time to have to bring it back. Should I try maybe getting a new SIM card? Or should I try a different Apple Store with a better manager?
     
  2. Brad02 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    #2
    I would try getting a new sim. The odds of getting two phones having the same exact signal issues are pretty slim. If that fails have it swapped again.
     
  3. lolkthxbai macrumors 65816

    lolkthxbai

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #3
    What carrier are you on? What area are you using the phone in? Does your brother have the same carrier?
     
  4. triscuitbiscuit, Sep 14, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013

    triscuitbiscuit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #4
    AT&T
    What's interesting is that the Apple Store gave me a new SIM to bring with me to the AT&T store to get reactivated when I got the replacement. Don't know if the SIM that Apple gave me was just junky?
    Brother has AT&T as well.

    The thing that makes me question this replacement is that when I hold it, it loses 2-3 bars. When I put it in my pocket, it loses almost all the bars (I can tell because when I take it out and press the home button, it is at 1 bar and then gains a couple after a few seconds). Is this normal?
     
  5. GcBuffs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    #5
    Okay, let me tell you a story, I received a replacement iPhone 5 from AppleCare. That replacement iPhone 5 had the same exact problems that your new iPhone has. It loses signal like 10-15 times an hour. Resulting in one bar or the "searching" option. I tried everything from resetting network settings, restoring,and getting a new SIM card (AT&T). None of that worked. So I called Apple and got a new replacement phone and everything has worked perfectly since then. I believe that there is a big number if replacement iPhone 5's with that problem.

    ----------

    I suggest you go to the Apple Store again to get a new replacement.
     
  6. triscuitbiscuit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #6
    I got another new SIM card and it is still doing it. So I've been going back and forth with AppleCare for the past week or so (it was upgraded to a supervisor). This will be the third time that I've had to restore it for them (and about the 6-7th time I've restored this phone). I sent them diagnostic data and they keep on insisting that it is not a hardware problem but a problem with connecting to their activation servers. That explanation makes no sense to me and I am at wits end with having to take the time to restore the device again and again and having to set it all up and sync it.
     

Share This Page