Iphone 5 with Google Maps

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by CSanchez, Jan 19, 2013.

1. CSanchez macrumors member

I just got a Iphone 5, it's my first Iphone and I like it with the only exception being the maps and navigation.

Is there any way I can make Google Maps the default without jail breaking it? Which I don't think exists right now?

Or is there a way I can use voice commands on the Google Maps app?

I've tried searching but I keep on pulling up stuff for older iphones and articles about how bad Apple maps are. I have not been able to find anything that can answer my question.

So if somebody knows I would appreciate the help.

Thanks

2. CSanchez thread starter macrumors member

I know I'm a newbie and this question might be dumb to some. But really, no answers after 500 views?

3. Garrett67 macrumors regular

4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

BrianBaughn

The multi-step workaround is to ask Siri to navigate to a location "via transit". This will open a list of any transit apps you may have installed. Then, you touch the button for Google Maps.

5. dmelgar macrumors 68000

I still don't get why folks don't like apple maps. I use it all the time, works great in my area.
    I tried using google maps the other day looking for a doctors office mostly to try and get street view. Google maps found the wrong (old) address while apple maps found it in the correct location in its new address.
    I think apple maps is different and folks don't like it to be different. Then everyone has piled on so folks feel bad if they say apple maps works for them. Tim Cook apologizing was seen as confirmation. Stupidest thing he's done yet. Apologized without mentioning any benefits. Bad move.

6. CSanchez thread starter macrumors member

Thank you! I can work with this.

7. CSanchez thread starter macrumors member

I've used both and I have no bias towards Apple or Google and like I said I have a Iphone 5 and I like it. Like anything else, both have pros and cons.