iphone 5c stuck in activation

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by aakanshya, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. aakanshya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #1
    hello.. i have this iphone 5c which is stuck in the activation. It was sent to me by my brother from USA .. he thought it was factory unlocked and he bought it from his friend,, but for some reasons he didnt check it.. When i got it here, i was told by my brother to reset it and when i did so.. It got stuck in the activation. It requires the original sim.. Can an iphone be factory unlocked even though it is stuck in the activation? And before i had reset it, i had made a backup of it in itunes.. Can i ever use the device again?

    please help!!!
     
  2. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #2
    You've posted in the wrong section so I have asked for it to be moved to a more relevant boards so perhaps you get a quicker response.
     
  3. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #3
    thank you :):)
     
  4. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #4
    It shouldn't be too difficult to find, or buy cheap original SIM, just for the sake of activation. Do you know, to which carrier the phone is locked to?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Is it activation locked?
    Is it asking you for an Apple ID email and password?
     
  6. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #6
    the thing is the phone is here with me in Nepal.. so i dont think its possible to buy a sim.. I checked the imei of the phone online and found out about the carrier.. I guess a third party unlock would help but i am not sure about it.. Do you have any idea regarding it??
     
  7. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #7
    Nope it does not ask about an apple ID email and password.. After selecting the language and country.. I am asked to connect to itunes and when i do so it shows as in the image...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. VTECaddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #8
    If it is unlocked, you just need to put any SIM card into it to activate it. Did you try to put your current SIM in there?
     
  9. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #9
    Yep i tried with my current sim.. It is not unlocked.. It is locked with its carrier...
     
  10. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #10
    Well than, the carrier unlock is your only option....
     
  11. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #11

    You mean if the iphone is factory unlocked it will work.. It is stuck in the activation..
     
  12. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  13. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #13
    thank you :) ... and one last question.. Even though the phone is stuck in activation, it can be factory unlocked?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Yes, once the factory IMEI unlock goes thru it will activate with any GSM sim card.
    What carrier is it locked to?
     
  15. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #15
    it is locked with US sprint
     
  16. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #16
    I guess you have no choice but to:

    1) Unlock your iPhone first.

    2) Once unlocked, insert your SIM & see if your sim is compatible or not.
    I'm not sure if the model of your phone supports all networks. I know that here in the US, Sprint is under CDMA network. At&t & T-mobile use GSM.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    How do you plan on unlocking it?
     
  18. aakanshya, Jan 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015

    aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #18
    I am not sure if there is any CDMA network service in Nepal.. but once the phone is unlocked.. i can use it as an ipod right?

    ----------

    Well i told my brother that he should tell his friend and ask him to talk to the carrier.. but my brother no longer has contact with his friend.. so i have no idea how the iphone is going to be unlocked.. I hope there are 3rd party unlocking options available or would jailbreaking help??

    Anyone have any idea and suggestions about 3rd party unlocking or jailbreaking?
     
  19. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #19


    Yes you can! Try to have your brother send you a Sprint SIM card. Hopefully, that should do the trick without having to unlock your phone if you want to just use it as an iPod touch.
     
  20. aakanshya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #20
    any sprint sim card would activate the phone? or the sim card that was given with phone?
     
  21. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Yes it would let you in the home screen but still will not work with any other sim unless you unlock it.
     

Share This Page