Iphone 5s has 64bit but my Mac Pro 1.1 only 32 bit

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chomomo, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. chomomo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

    Come on apple release that update for my mac pro 1.1 to run 64bit :cool:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Probably due to seven years in computer technology evolution, but then again, the neighbour has not moaned yet.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    iPhone 5S has motion detection

    But my MP 5,1 does not. C'mon Apple, release an update.
     
  4. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    You move around with your Mac Pro?
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    It's a mobile computer... it has handles!


    In all seriousness though, OP, I sympathize with ML not running on a ML 1,1. I do believe there is a workaround for that though.
     
  6. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    Yeah, it's called "buying a new computer". The MacPro1,1 is seven years old at this point, using CPU tech that was at least 1-2 years old at the time of release.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    How? The Xeons used in there were Woodcrest CPUs belonging to the Core micro architecture, which was released in 2006.
     
  8. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #8
    Xeons have typically lagged behind their desktop counterparts by a year or two. For example, Ivy Bridge E is just coming out, while every other segment has moved to Haswell. Maybe that was different 7-8 years go, it's been so long that I've forgotten the specific details.

    No matter what, by today's standards, those CPUs are painfully slow. They couldn't even keep up with a low-end modern GPU.
     
  9. FireArse, Sep 11, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2013

    FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #9
    Mac Pro 1,1 on 10.8

    I have 10.8 working on my Mac Pro 1,1 - follow this step by step and it works. Only thing I found was wake from sleep sometimes KP'd but I'd simply disable sleep.

    Mac OS 10.8 on Mac Pro 1,1

    Works for some..

    FireArse
     
  10. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    My G5 can't stop all the fans, can apple release a firmware update? /sarcasm
     
  11. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #11
    FireArse,

    Did you mean to include steps or a link or something?
     
  12. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #12
    How long before Apple reduce the Mac Pro down to the size of the iPhone? :)
     
  13. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #13
    Apple rarely releases updates for products more than a generation old, much less 4 generations old.

    Luckily, people have been running 64-bit kernel with OS X for a while using the Chameleon bootloader. It all started on netkas.org and you can read how it evolved: Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro - netkas.org forum

    Step-by-step guide that grew out of that to get Mountain Lion installed provided you have a Mountain Lion-supported graphics adapter like the 5770: How I installed Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on my 2006 MacPro 1,1 | Jabbawok's Blog

    Mavericks developer preview releases so far work fine using this approach.
     
  14. Squishy Tia macrumors regular

    Squishy Tia

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #14
    Just a clarification to the OP: Everything in the Mac Pro 1,1/2,1 is fully 64-bit except for the EFI. The EFI used in these machines is EFI32. That is why you cannot load 64-bit mode without Chameleon or other bootloader. This is the part of the system Apple would have to update for us.

    I'd love to see it happen since it would make running ML/Mavericks that much easier (one would only have to add the MP1,1/2,1 board IDs into a couple files in the OS proper), but fat chance of that happening.

    The Xeons used in the 1,1/2,1 MPs are 64-bit and based off of the Core 2 Duo architecture, not to be confused with the Core Duo architecture, which is 32-bit.

    The iPhone 5S is the first to use a 64-bit CPU, but until that is realized by software developers, it's merely a marketing ploy.
     

Share This Page