iPhone 5s Required for 64-bit Debug/Testing?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by skitzogreg, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. skitzogreg macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #1
    Does Xcode 5 include tools to debug for 64-bit (forwards compatibility) with only a physical iPhone 5 (non-S) to test with? I'm not asking if the iPhone 5 can test a 64-bit app, but rather if the iPhone tester in Xcode will allow me to emulate a 64-bit app since I don't have a physical 5s to test with. If not, I guess I need to buy a 5s direct from Apple (which is not friendly to the wallet).
     
  2. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #2
    Xcode does not include an ARM emulator, nor even a Simulator accurate enough to determine if an app will run properly on an actual iOS device (still useful for running most UI code and catching some bugs though).

    So best practice is to test on an actual iOS device running the ARM architecture and OS versions supported by your app submission.

    Also, arm64 devices can run arm7(s) code, so there is currently no need to even build a 64-bit binary until you have verified some actual performance difference on a device.
     
  3. skitzogreg thread starter macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #3
    So would you recommend then to buy a 5s, or do you think I'm okay to stick with 32-bit creation for the next year?
     
  4. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Whether or not to build for arm64 depends on whether your app is maxing out the CPU enough for any performance difference to be visible to the customer, and the size of the revenue opportunity.

    In some countries, a test device for an app business entity may be a tax deductible expense.
     
  5. skitzogreg thread starter macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #5
    Good points. For a beginner developer, the odds of me maxing out the CPU for a primarily text-based app is slim to none. That is, of course, unless the app is poorly coded - which could actually be good for learning.

    I'll stick with the 5 for now and go from there. Thank you very much!
     
  6. TouchMint.com macrumors 68000

    TouchMint.com

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #6
    xcode 5 does include a 64bit iOS7 simulator but I think you do need a 5s to physically test. As others have said unless you are doing some intense things I doubt you need it. Another cool tool about xcode 5 is that it shows memory / cpu usage real-time while you are testing on the simulators.
     
  7. Duncan C macrumors 6502a

    Duncan C

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #7
    Tough call, really.

    As others have pointed out, most of use won't need the performance or larger address space from building native 64 bit apps.

    However, I have already seen reports of problems that only show up on the 5s, with what looks like internal 64 bit bugs. Face recognition using Core Image sounds like it's broken on the 5s, even for 32 bit apps.

    I suspect there will be compatibility issues
     
  8. Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #8
    So then I think the general rule is leave 64 bit alone, unless using it will give your app extra performance, correct?

    I also noticed Xcode 5 shows you how much CPU and RAM your app uses in realtime. Very cool. If you can see you're hitting the CPU hard, constantly, then maybe a 64bit route will help, I guess.

    As Duncan says - for a lot of use, 64 bit is not needed. For the guys who made Infinity Blade III - I would say 64 bit definitely helped them!
     
  9. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Sooner or later, the iPad / iPad Mini will get the 64 bit chip. Many have said the iPhone didn't need the 64 bit setup and the iPads do. I'm not sure, but it does stand to reason that the iPads would be better suited to what the 64 bit chip/os would offer.
     

Share This Page