iPhone 6+ 16gb

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KateMack55, Jun 21, 2015.

1. KateMack55 macrumors newbie

OK - bear with me as I'm not a techie. I just got my first smartphone - a 6+. I have always had a basic flip phone because I just don't use a cell phone that much. However, after taking a vacation last fall, my husband and I realized it would be nice to be able to have Internet access while on the road.

I got a 16gb phone and thought it would be OK because I have been using a 16gb iPod Touch and never came close to running out of memory.

I quickly realized that a 16gb phone filled up really fast! Most of the memory was eaten up by photos and music. I bought a RsvPower file hub because it sounded like it would solve my problem - but I guess I can't transfer music I bought using iTunes.

Other than the cloud, it there a device like a file hub that is compatible with all iOS files? I don't want to store everything in the cloud because sometimes I am in areas where I don't have good cell coverage. Thanks.

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

You should be using something like this: http://9to5mac.com/2015/03/20/the-best-iphoneipad-usb-flash-drives-with-lightning-connectors/

PS - use a streaming service like Spotify for your music instead. And also transfer all your photos to your Mac/PC whenever possible. Store it there instead.

3. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

IrishVixen

I personally transfer photos to Dropbox via their app. I'm not sure if any of those external drives are compatible with iTunes-purchased music, though some may work with music loaded from CDs or other DRM-free files. I know that none of them work with iTunes purchased movies (at least, since iOS 8)--though they'll typically work with movies ripped from DVDs. Most only seem good for photos and not much else.