iPhone 6 - 4K recording?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by roxics, Apr 19, 2014.

1. roxics macrumors regular

With the Note 3, Galaxy S5 and Sony Xperia Z2 all offering 4K video recording, what do you think the likihood Apple will offer 4K recording on the iPhone 6.

We hear rumors of a bigger scren and a possible lens mount for the camera. If both are true it seems the iPhone 6 could really focus on video and photography and 4K recording would make a lot os sense.

I've heard that the 4K recording on the Note 3 is excellent, despite the late of image stabilization. Haven't heard anything yet about the other two.

Personally I'm most interested in 4K recording because of how well it downsamples to 1080p. So you can start with a 4K 4:2:0 sampling and end up with 1080p 4:4:4. Which is awesome and IMO the biggest reason to upgrade to 4K cameras asap.

I realize I'm not like most consumers as I do commercial video production for a living. So most consumers are saying "why do we need 4K if we don't have 4K televisions?" The simple answer is, better 1080p or the ability to crop or digitally zoom into a 1080p section.

I would also love to see the iPhone 6 match the GS5 IP67 rating for water resistance. I think it's high time all phones have this standard since we use them everywhere. But I get the feeling Apple cares more about looks than protection from the environment and I don't think they would add a flap over the lightning connector and instead just tell us to get a case.

2. I7guy macrumors G5

I think you got your answer in your own post when you said: "I'm not like most consumers".

In addition the iPhone is a sleek package while the Samsung is not. No thanks. You can buy a waterproof case if you desire.

3. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

I have no interest in producing higher res shaky handheld video of useless stuff no one will ever want to see.

4. nightstalkerz macrumors 6502

I'd rather see Apple bump the base storage up to 32GB before seeing 4K recording.