iPhone 6 and 802.11ac Airport Extreme/Time Capsule

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vtbb, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. vtbb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #1
    I was excited to pick up an iPhone 6 as my first device with 802.11ac. I have the newest Time Capsule with up-to-date firmware. Has anybody else checked to see what their link speeds are with this setup? I'm not talking internet speeds...I'm talking link speeds you see within the Airport Utility. I can't get above 86 mbps on my iPhone 6. For reference, my 2012 Macbook Pro is consistently above 200 mbps...my iPad Air is around 140 mbps...and then my iPhone 5 is only around 50-60 mbps. My iPhone 6 should be getting speeds well above my iPad Air.

    I've also seen the video of the 6+ getting speeds well into the 250s. What gives? Apple support was no help. I've tried everything on the Time Capsule itself...but this seems like a phone issue.
     
  2. tekkt0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #2
    Couple things here... I have a 6+ and Airport Extreme 802.11ac. I'm able to get about 250mbps w/ my 6+.

    First, is your phone running on the 5Ghz band? Second, are there any 802.11n, g, or b devices working on the 5Ghz band? If so, you're speeds will drop significantly. The network can only work as fast as the slowest connection. So if you've got some 802.11n device connected, you're not going to get 802.11ac speeds on your 6.

    If this is the case, seperate your devices and make sure your using dual band. I have all my 802.11n, g, and b devices on my 2.4Ghz band. Then I have all my 802.11ac devices on my 5Ghz band.
     
  3. vtbb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #3
    I tried creating a 5GHz only network and just connected the 6 to that SSID. It didn't make any difference. And as I said, my iPad Air is getting speeds in the 140 mbps range on N.
     
  4. RBM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    #4
    433 Mbps here (6+), with seven other devices connected to the 5 GHz band.
     
  5. tekkt0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #5
    try changing channels on the band. might be some interference somewhere.
     
  6. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #6
    802.11b and g devices are 2.4GHz only. The newest Airports and Time Capsules, as well as the generation before them, are capable of simultaneous dual band operation, meaning that having a 2.4GHz device on the network won't limit the speeds of other devices.
     
  7. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #7
    I have the same router.

    iPad Air - 300Mb/s

    iPhone 6 Plus - 78Mb/s

    What the heck? The only ac capable device has the slowest connection? No other devices are currently connected atm.
     
  8. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #8
    This is the speed I get between my iMac and iPhone 6 Plus via my Airport TC.

    [​IMG]

    ----------

    Do a reset network settings on your iPhone and try again.
     
  9. HEK, Oct 21, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2014

    HEK Suspended

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #9
    Have AirPort Extreme with duel band simultaneous capability. IPad Air connects at 150 to 160 on n band. At same time iPhone 6 Plus is connecting at 275 - 290 ac band.

    There is a rapid fall off from the high speeds with 5 GHz ac based on distance and number of walls signal is passing through.

    Am using the app WI-FI Sweetspots. Works real well, reveals where signal strength/speed falls off.

    One more thing. One time I noted the 6+ was connecting at only 50-60. When I disconnect (forget network) that's settings, general, reset, reset network settings and re-logged in, it shot back up to 285mbps.
     
  10. tekkt0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #10
    my understanding is any 802.11b or g device on the 2.4Ghz band will limit the entire network bandwidth to b or g speeds. i even tested this with an 802.11ac network card w/ my PC. On the 2.4Ghz band i was limited to a little less than 100mbps (802.11g devices were on the net). When i moved the 802.11ac card/PC to the 5Ghz band I jumped up to 700mbps.
     
  11. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #11
    That didn't work for me. I manually forced my 6+ on the 5GHz band and now it is seeing 433Mb/s. This seems strange because isn't the router supposed to automatically sense that the 6+ is capable of "ac" protocol and always provide the fastest connection for it?
     
  12. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #12
    My fastest speeds are limited by my 2011 iMac. Fastest I can get is through my Airport TC between the two, with no other device connected to the router is around 255 Mbs. Doesn't matter whether my iMac is connected via wifi or ethernet to the TC. Just the limitations of my older iMac.

    ----------

    I thought so too, but never got it to work that way. I had to set my router set up for a a separate 5GHz connection in addition to 2.4 GHz.
     
  13. tekkt0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #13
    i did the same thing. i set up a seperate 5Ghz network and allow only my AC devices on it.

    great speeds now :)
     
  14. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #14
    What's interesting is that even my iPad Air sees way faster speeds on the 5GHz channel 300Mb/s with only a/n protocol???
     
  15. ryanmcv macrumors 6502a

    ryanmcv

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #15
    I have an AirPort Extreme (newest 802.11ac model) in my relatively small apartment, and the AirPort Utility consistently reports that my iPhone 6 Plus is connected at 433 Mbps. My other devices (all 802.11n) are connected at 300 Mbps.
     
  16. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #16
    Did you manually put your 6+ on the 5GHz band?
     
  17. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #17
    What app is this?
     
  18. ryanmcv macrumors 6502a

    ryanmcv

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    Nope. It automatically connects to the 5GHz band 90% of the time, regardless.
     
  19. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #19
    That's weird. It always put mine on the a/b/g/n band. When I force it to 5GHz, it finally uses the 802.11ac.

    I'm fine keeping it on the 5GHz only though. It's blazing fast.

    Airport Utility app
     
  20. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #20
    Speedy Net. You have to buy it for both your mac and iPhone.
     
  21. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #21
    Interesting. The point of having simultaneous dual-band capability in a wireless access point is to make sure one older device doesn't throttle other devices on the same network to 2.4GHz speeds. Maybe certain implementations still struggle with it for some reason, even if they have simultaneous dual band capabilities in the hardware.
     

Share This Page