iPhone 6; GSM and CDMA (dual band)?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by phil hawkins, Sep 10, 2014.

  1. phil hawkins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    #1
    Does anyone know if the new iPhone 6 will be BOTH GSM and CDMA in the same phone? I travel to Europe a lot and would like a dual band phone.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    No.
    Its the same way it is now.
    If you buy a verizon iphone for example you can use it on verizon or any GSM network in the world.
    Unlocked GSM iphones cannot be used on CDMA networks and different cdma network iphones cannot be used on another cdma carrier.
    CDMA carriers in general will not activate another cdma capable iphone to their network unless is sold by them or made for their network.
    Also the unlocked GSM iphone 6 does not have any active cdma radios.
    http://www.att.com/esupport/datausage.jsp?source=IZDUel1160000000U

    Here's the bands used for each iphone 6 model number:

    Model A1549 (GSM)*
    Model A1522 (GSM)*

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

    Model A1549 (CDMA)*
    Model A1522 (CDMA)*

    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

    Model A1586*
    Model A1524*

    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

    TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)

    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
     
  3. badsector macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #3
    does that means the japanese iphone (CDMA) A1586 and A1524 supports the most carrier worldwide?
     
  4. deezndoze macrumors newbie

    deezndoze

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #4
    Ummm.... Verizon is CDMA not GSM.
     
  5. rigormortis, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5
    when you start using LTE and Sim cards, you pretty much cease to be a CDMA only carrier and you are forced to be a GSM one. yes. verizon uses CDMA for voice, but if you remove the sim card, then you can't make a telephone call. even in a CDMA only area, like Calaveras County, CA, no sim card, no phone service period.

    a LTE CDMA carrier uses the SIM card to authenticate. it to the network. it does not use the CDMA radio to authenticate. it must be present, but its not important. it only comes into play when you make or receive a telephone call.


    the iPhone 5 and 5s phones were either GSM and NO CDMA or CDMA and GSM


    i want to put a nail in this and put it to rest.
    the iPhone 6 ( and plus) come in 2 models. one is TMOBILE - AT&T -VERIZON and the other one is TMOBILE -AT&T VERIZON AND SPRINT

    its impossible to buy an unlocked iPhone 6, or a 6 plus with its CDMA radio disabled in the united states.

    it might be sim locked to a particular carrier, but the CDMA radio is fully functional.


    back in september 2014, Verizon was not Activating new lines of service for the unlocked "t-mobile" iPhone 6 series. because they felt it was not a verizon device. january 2015 arrived, and then apple started to sell the SIM FREE unit. this one was "white listed" i.e. approved for Sprint and Verizon.

    before 2 weeks ago , if you had a T-mobile Unlocked iPhone 6 series phone and you wanted verizon, as long as you pulled the sim from the real device, the iPhone 6 series phones would become verizon phones. you just couldn't walk into a verizon store and activate a new line of service.

    it wasn't because those early phones did not have CDMA radios, it was because Verizon just didn't like the serial #

    effective 2 weeks ago, verizon said F' IT, and did the greatest thing they have ever done and they have approved every single iPhone 6 series phone to work on their network, regardless of the model, as long as it is unlocked.

    regardless of what phone you buy, verizon will work on the iPhone 6, and on the nexus 6 as well

    however if you put a sprint sim in the wrong iPhone, it will turn into a cellular iPad, and you will not be able to use it for voice. but it will still work for data.

    its a very simple explanation. all the iPhone 6 series phones are dual band and they have 16 LTE bands in the A1549 and 20 LTE bands in the A1586, because of this, they are the best phones that money can buy.

    until today's keynote. heh

    AT&T is totally wrong. the unlocked iPhone 6 does have CDMA radios. they are full of it

    here is my thread back in september 2014 on apple discussions that talks about this
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6552532

    no matter if you buy a CDMA iPhone 6 or a GSM iPhone 6, it is still model A1549, period.
     
  6. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    looks to me like the new iPhone 6s will be cdma also,and 23 bands, but we will have to wait until the specs come out
     
  7. deezndoze, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

    deezndoze macrumors newbie

    deezndoze

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #7
    FYI: So I did an experiment today and I can't believe it worked!!! Just to test if iPhone 6 comes factory carrier unlocked when purchased with a two year contract, I tested my iPhone 6 to see if it would accept another sim and it did! I have a Verizon Wireless iPhone 6 (CDMA) and I took out the tiny nano SIM card and replaced it with my friends AT&T (GSM) nano sim from his iPhone 5c and what do you know it took the AT&T sim and I was able to text, call, and use LTE data to brouse the internet. When you turn LTE off the 4G works as well, mind you this is still what I THOUGHT was a LOCKED Verizon in contract iPhone 6. I cant believe it worked and I will definatley be using a cheaper service than Verizon when the time comes. After I did more research, Verizon plainly claims on their website found on a simple google search that they no longer lock most post-paid LTE phones. Hope this helps someone! :)
     
  8. C DM macrumors Nehalem

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Verizon iPhones thst support LTE (be they on contract or otherwise) have to come factory unlocked from the beginning due to an agreement with FCC. It's been like that for a few years now, since the iPhone 5.
     
  9. deezndoze macrumors newbie

    deezndoze

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #9
    Wow, thanks for the condesending response, I'm just answering the original question correctly. It may be old news to you but it wasn't to me and it's not to this thread. If you havent checked that's what this thread is about so if you already knew that maybe you should've comented earlier and saved us a bunch of time!;)
     
  10. C DM macrumors Nehalem

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    Not sure where you are getting anything condescending from. Simply explained it all with information and nothing more.

    As for replying to the thread, not only is it about a year old now, and thus wouldn't be really noticeable, but not everyone sees every possible thread. Seems like anything condescending might be elsewhere rather than my reply.
     
  11. deezndoze macrumors newbie

    deezndoze

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #11
    You just have the answer for everything don't you! You go girl!
     
  12. C DM macrumors Nehalem

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Thank you for proving the point.
     
  13. deezndoze macrumors newbie

    deezndoze

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #13
    No problem! :) Take care and stay positive! ;)
     
  14. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #14
    well , yes, the iPhone 5 came unlocked. and it was the FCC thing ETC ETC ETC
    but what i want to say is that it was impossible to take an unlocked AT&T iPhone 5 and bring it to Verizon because
    the CDMA radio was disabled

    The iPhone 6 and 6+ came out with a working CDMA radio. so an unlocked AT&T iPhone 6/6+ would have no problems working on Verizon..

    i got a real good post over in the buying advice warning people not to let gazelle RIP YOU OFF. it is very informative
    and its worth reading. i tried shopping it around to BGR and Mac rumors to see if they wanted to do a story about it
    but they passed on it.


    the 6s and 6s+ went back to Gsm and Gsm/cdma because of a component issue.
    that means if you buy the Gsm AT&T and Tmobile one, it probably won't work on verizon
    if it does work on verizon, it might just be an iPad. or it might work VoLTE but not CDMA voice.

    and if buy the CDMA Verizon and sprint one ( and unlock sprint ) it will work fine on AT&T and t-mobile
    but it will be missing channel 29, which is a new AT&T LTE channel they have in some areas

    i preordered a T-mo one. I'm thinking of returning it for the Verizon
     
  15. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #15
    gazelle was ripping people off twice.
    once, by offering you a lower price then you can get on a private sale, and people saying "oh its the convenience" !!!

    twice, by trying to rip you off $125 by saying an unlocked phone or a unlocked AT&T phone was some how not as good as a verizon one, and it was BULL****
     
  16. applegeek97 macrumors 6502a

    applegeek97

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #16
    So I have a question. If I have an iPhone 6+ now, on AT&T, can I sell to someone that currently has Verizon so they can put a Verizon Sim card in it and have full functions? The model on my phone A1522.

    I'm pretty sure the answer is yes, but I'm not an expert ;)
     
  17. rigormortis, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #17
    YES as long AS IT IS UNLOCKED
    you need to contact AT&T and submit an unlock request
    https://www.att.com/deviceunlock

    2 weeks ago it was a minor hassle with verizon. no more. go to verizon's imei checker and give it your imei and it will say its fine

    http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/nso/enterDeviceId.do
     
  18. applegeek97 macrumors 6502a

    applegeek97

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Cool. I did unlock it few moths ago from AT&T and restored it via iTunes to get the unlock confirmation. The Verizon website says it's compatible. :)
     
  19. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #19
    i heard you don't even need to use iTunes anymore you just need to power it off and power it on with a new sim
    they changed this in iOS 7, or maybe iOS 8, i think
     

Share This Page