iPhone 6 multitasking not working

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by jamran, May 22, 2015.

  1. jamran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys. I'm having issues with my multitasking.

    Basically whenever I leave an app and subsequently return to it, the app refreshes itself. Meaning whatever I was doing before I left the app isn't saved/stored and it refreshes. This is very irritating especially when I've filled in or written things down and then when I reopen its all lost.

    My device is jailbroken. iOS 8.1.2

    This problem has arisen suddenly. Device has been Jb since day one and didn't have any issues till recently.

    This applies to every app on the device. For example, I use Adobe for pdf files. Usually when I open a pdf file and then leave the app and come back later. I can view "recent files" and the files I've opened are listed there. However, now the list is empty. Seems like it may have something to do with cache. Not sure.

    Also I installed plex 2 before this problem occurred and tried a few tweaks. However it shows that all the ones I downlaoded aren't active. So may not be relevant.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #2
    Only just started happening? You're lucky then, my 6+ has been doing this since unboxing it.
     
  3. ipooed macrumors 6502

    ipooed

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #3
    Agreed I have never been jail broken on my 6+ and it happens daily! I've learned to write important stuff down and save it immediately, or write it down in wordpad on my PC which I could leave open for days without losing it.
     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    This doesn't seem like multitasking or anything like that, seems like something else is going on there.

    ----------

    Write down stuff where? If you put it in Notes or something like that, it gets saved and there's no issue with losing it really.
     
  5. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #5
    Simple reason - The phone has only 1GB of RAM and contents of the app has been overwritten. The phone can only keep a few apps in memory, hence the refresh.

    Jailbroken or not makes no difference.
     
  6. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    Based on what's described in the OP seems like it's a somewhat different issue anyway, unrelated to multitasking.
     
  7. jamran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #7

    Thing is I've never had this issue in any iPhone ive had. 4, 4S 5 5S. Never. It's only on this 6. So clearly it's not a ram issue. Something has been tweaked. Like zero cache levels or something?

    ----------

    Also another correction is I installed FLEX 2 not plex.
     
  8. Ed217 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    Apps fall into 2 categories – Ones that run in the background all the time and ones that don’t. There are very few of the first as that is well controlled by iOS and Apple for battery considerations. Most apps are of the second type. Background apps keep their state virtually all the time, with rare exceptions (like phone being turned off).

    Non background apps have two flavors – ones that save all state info the moment the app goes inactive and ones that don’t. Most don’t save state it seems. Ones that save state, restore that every time they become active again.

    It you start and/or use a lot of apps, that tends to move things around. When memory gets busy, iOS can just terminate apps that are inactive and not running in background. That is probably what is what is being seen here as I see that a lot here as well. The longer it has been since an app goes inactive, the greater chance iOS has terminated it and the state is no longer just there by default.

    Most weather apps are a good example. Then tend to not save state, as that would tend to no longer be accurate after a long delay. They refresh and effectively start over when active again.

    Even some GPS based apps will see this behavior as well, although Apple provides other autostart means to mostly overcome that when the phone starts moving significant distances.

    For those apps not designed to save state, I’m not sure there is any way to avoid this, jail broken or not.
     
  9. jamran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #9

    THIS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE. So this isn't the answer I feel. There's definately something going on. Or iOS 8 has changed something but I'm pretty sure there's a fault somewhere
     
  10. Ed217 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
    #10
    I started seeing much more of this in iOS 8 than before. May be part of what Apple did to improve battery life.
     
  11. jamran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #11
    Improve battery life? Haven't noticed any improvement tbh
     
  12. Ed217 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
    #12
    Many do report improved life, however the task was clear I believe. If you shut down apps, you have the chance to save battery. It may be small, but is likely there for many cases. I believe they made that choice and many other similar ones.
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    Apple themselves have pointed out that shutting down apps can often lead to higher battery usage given that loading those apps back in when needed would be more work than if their state was saved--that's why they don't recommend people to close down apps manually unless it's needed for some reason (like they become unresponsive or something like that).
     
  14. Ed217 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    Also true, but Apple gets to make the choice of which. That seems to be what changed. For those with XCode tools, you can look at detailed logs and see what stayed and what went.
     
  15. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #15
    If they reload as soon as you go back to them then Apple failed.
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    As soon as (assuming you didn't really go elsewhere that is resource intensive) then yes, that shouldn't be the case.
     

Share This Page