iPhone 6 plus camera

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by puckhead193, Dec 16, 2014.

  1. puckhead193, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014

    puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Today, I've noticed that my camera won't appear. When I open the app it's a black screen. In other apps, it says the camera is missing. On the lock screen the camera icons doesn't appear on the bottom right.
    I finally was apple to launch the app and when i did, there are purple lines running through it and I can't even see the image. I'll post a screen shot of a video I took later.

    What do you think the problem could be? A loose connection?
    Phone has never been dropped etc.

    Does apple have replacements in stock? Will I get a new phone (assuming apple has stock. To make matters worst I have a iPhone 6 plus 128 gig in space gray. :eek:

    edit - here's a screen capture of the video i took earlier
     

    Attached Files:

  2. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    i'm guessing no one had this issue?

    Can't be good then and it's prob not software then... Because the phone is still so new what will apple do? Give me a brand new phone? Will be be refurbished? What if they don't have one in stock?
     
  3. bluedukies8 macrumors 6502

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    Have you tried any troubleshooting steps yet? IE reset (home + power buttons), restored phone, setup as new?

    If none of those will solve it, Apple will replace the phone more than likely after they look it over. You will prolly get a white or brown box phone. Could possibly be refurbished but I am not certain.
     
  4. azhava macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #4
    I had a similar issue with the camera in my iP5, it was a hardware problem. Took it to the Apple Store, they looked at it and said "Yep, that's easy to fix" as they handed me a new phone. I don't know if it was new or a refurb, and frankly didn't care - it worked perfectly and looked brand new, good enough for me.


    I don't have first-hand knowledge so don't take it as gospel, but it's my understanding that they hold back some phones to have on hand for exchanges/replacements. Perhaps you could call the Apple store before going and they could tell you in advance.
     
  5. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    i've reset and restored from back up with the same results. I have an appointment tomorrow. Just hope the store isn't too crazy with holiday shoppers. If I can find a bar stool i'll be ok. Ill pack snacks :p

    I wouldn't care so much if they ordered me a new one to the store or to my house and I get it within a week (hopefully) if it's a brand new phone.
     
  6. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    I showed them the video and it was determined it was hardware so they gave me a new phone. They have a stock of phones like the refurbished ones in the white boxes.. but he told me it was new...
     

Share This Page