iPhone 6 Plus has a virtual resolution larger than 1080p

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tonyunreal, Sep 10, 2014.

1. tonyunreal, Sep 10, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2014

tonyunreal macrumors regular

tonyunreal

UPDATE :

On a second thought, it makes sense for Apple to use a virtual resolution and scale it down on the physical screen, just like we could use a 3840 x 2400 desktop on a MacBook Pro with Retina display. Bye-bye pixel perfect.

Also thanks WorldTravelBro below for point that out, I changed the title a bit to better reflect the situation.

ORIGINAL POST :

Hi guys, I'm an app developer, earlier today I was messing around with the GM version of Xcode 6.0 (the tool that we use to developer apps for iOS), I think I found something that is interesting, that the actual resolution of the upcoming iPhone 6 Plus may not be 1080p as Apple has claimed, instead it should be 2208x1242 just like the previous leaks reported.

Here's a screenshot of the iPhone 6 Plus home screen from the iOS simulator for developers, as you can see the resolution is 2208x1242.

http://i900.photobucket.com/albums/ac203/tonyunreal/6plus.png

At first I thought, oh no big deal, they just forgot to update the simulator to the real resolution. But wait, its actually not that hard to tell whether its real or not, we just need to look at the size of the user interface and spaces between icons.

When the iPhone 4 with Retina display came out, Apple made it easier for our developers by letting our apps (and theirs) utilize the same user interface size on the new screens, only scaled up by 2x, this resulted in the same experience of the user interface across different devices. It was 320 points by 480 points at the moment, then extended to 320p by 568p on the iPhone 5/5c/5s.