iPhone 6 Plus Sprint Factory Unlocked - Best iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BriOS, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. BriOS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #1
    I keep reading that the sprint/factory unlocked iphones support the most bands and frequencies, and will work in any supported network that an iPhone will work on in the world. So does this make them the most valuable? I would assume so no? I just sold my launch day 6 and paid retail for a 6+ unlocked phone from apple. I know about the VoLTE issue with the factory unlocked phones not working, but is there any upside to having this version? All i can see is that they are going to be worth more in resale, even more than the T-mobile ones I read. Read here.

    http://www.techwalls.com/differences-between-iphone-6-6-plus-models/
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Yes, from a radio and band support perspective the Sprint model is the top dog. However, until January/February 2015 the problem was that Sprint had the phones locked.

    Once Apple came out with the SIM free phones (which is the Sprint model) and Sprint started to unlock the 6/6+ these phones were still locked to Sprint.

    Sprint is still locking their 6/6+ to the network when you purchase them, except that if you pay full price or pay off the balance they will unlock them. But as long as you buy from Sprint and the phone is not paid for, or do not pay full price when buying from Apple, it is locked to Sprint.

    Which makes it unusable anywhere other than Sprint until it's unlocked.
     
  3. BriOS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #3
    Well I just paid full retail for mine from apple directly. And Im using an AT&T sim in it. And yes VoLTE does not work.
     
  4. TheAppleFairy macrumors 68020

    TheAppleFairy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    The Clinton Archipelago unfortunately
    #4
    I'd say yes, as long as it is not on Sprint's network.
     
  5. LaynieGorilla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    VoLTE doesn't work with unlocks sprint sim free phones on ATT?
     
  6. BriOS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #6
    Yep. Im on with AT&T right now trying to get it to work. They are opening some tech support case to see why. But there is a huge thread here about it. Sucks but its really no big deal. LTE for data works fine, but the minute you make a call it switches to 4G.
     
  7. SuperKerem macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    I don't think it does, but it isn't a big deal for me.
     
  8. LaynieGorilla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    That sucks.. Though I think I noticed that on different model iPhones too. I am a frequent user of data while on the phone. I hope it can be resolved and fixed.
     
  9. RiddlaBronc macrumors 6502a

    RiddlaBronc

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Location:
    Mcallen Tx
    #9
    Sprint phones went from being the least valuable to the most valuable. Wow
     
  10. Learylvr. macrumors regular

    Learylvr.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    #10

    Who would've thought?? Lol
     
  11. EM2013 macrumors 65816

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #11
    Comeback of the year. :D
     
  12. Appleguyyy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    #12
    Sprint Remote Unlock

    From what i have herd sprint only unlocks for international networks and to be used only on sprint while in the US.

    Does anyone know if you can actually do a remote unlock from the unlocking sites (Chronicunlocks, swiftunlocks etc) does sprint RELOCK them after 3 months? Or do they stay unlocked even after the iOS update?

    Anyone know about this?



     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    That was true until February when Sprint changed it's unlock policy.

    An unlock is a submission of an IMEI to Apple's database. It's one way. Carriers may submit but they can never recall. Once unlocked it's unlocked forever.

    So no. Sprint cannot relock your phone.

    iOS updates are irrelevant to unlocking.
     

Share This Page