iPhone 6 Plus ultra slow after iOS10 upgrade :(

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by soamz, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #1
    Just upgraded to iOS10 for my iPhone 6 Plus and d***n, the phone is completely dead now.
    Its so slow, even iMessages and whatsapp shows me blank screen for more than 2 minutes.

    I have more than 35GB vacant.

    Whats wrong with the OS ?
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried restarting? If that doesn't help might want to try resetting all settings.
     
  3. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
  4. maxsix Suspended

    maxsix

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
  5. Freakonomics101 macrumors 65816

    Freakonomics101

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #5
    Fresh install of a new iOS is the best way to go.
     
  6. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #6
    Ahhh... Means take a backup on iTunes and then fresh install and restore whole backup again ?
     
  7. yukhalilsel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    I've been using iOS 10 for months now since the keynote in June and even on my 5s it was real stable and fast. Since six weeks I have it running on my iPhone 6 and it works great.
    A clean install might help.
     
  8. Freakonomics101 macrumors 65816

    Freakonomics101

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #8
    Yes. Although, last time I did a wipe on iTunes, I didn't restore my backup. Wanted to make sure my phone wouldn't mess up from a possible corrupted backup.
     
  9. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #9
    You mean, 1st wipe all old backups at iTunes and take a new backup and then restore ?
     
  10. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #10
    Restoring from a backup is not starting fresh. You will just restore the corruption.
     
  11. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #11
    Then what to do ?
    Install OS and install apps all again ???
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Not necessarily. Plenty of times just resetting settings is enough to get rid of glitches of different types, let alone reinstalling even with a backup. Starting completely new would be more of a last resort thing, which might be needed at times, but often enough can be avoided.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2016 ---
    Try just resetting settings first. Or alternatively reinstalling and restoring from backup. If those options don't work then you might want to consider reinstalling without a backup and doing it all anew basically.
     
  13. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #13
    Oh :(
    Okay let me reset settings.
    Means all settings will be gone ?
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Yeah. All data will still be there, but you'll need to reconfigure your settings to your liking.
     
  15. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #15
    No, I believe they mean restore the phone to factory, set up as new. iCloud will bring in your contacts, etc and then manually reinstall your apps. That's the only way to get a fresh install. If you have something corrupted in your OS and restore from a backup, the bug is likely to come back along w the backup. The backup essentially creates a snapshot of your iPhone, so backing up in that state and then restoring from it is not likely to resolve your issues.

    If you must, migrate photos etc off first or use iCloud Photo Library if you have the space. Believe me, it sounds nuts but restoring from recovery mode (fresh download/install of iOS) and setting up as new will really work wonders for these types of software glitches. I resolved some bugs that had plagued me across several versions of iOS by doing this earlier this year.
     
  16. Lifetimechaldo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #16
    An apple store rep has told me that icloud backup does not save any bit of the firmware of iOS. They said it should be enough to use icloud to back it up and restore
     
  17. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #17
    Technically what I said is true. "Restoring from a backup is by starting fresh." That part is 100% true. Doesn't mean it's necessary in this situation, but when one refers to 'starting fresh' they are referring to setting up as new without a backup.
     
  18. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #18
    That part is true, as you mention it as well; my reply was more in relation to the second part of your post.
     
  19. hermitman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #19
    In my humble opinion:

    Put it on charge and leave it for a night. The new Photo App is working hard to recognize all the faces and creating albums, etc. Besides, the OS itself is doing a lot of optimization or clean up.

    Wiping the phone is like a fresh install without all content so that the OS do not need to work hard to relocate resources or clean up contents. However, it is totally not necessary.

    Wiping will help if you jailbroke your phone, as the additional toolchain installed by the jailbreaker is likely not cleaned up and some residue processes may jam the background of the new OS.
     
  20. Suckfest 9001 macrumors 6502a

    Suckfest 9001

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    That's not how any of this works
     
  21. Mlrollin91, Sep 14, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2016

    Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #21
    Oh but it is. iOS 7 I had a massive Message app problem. The app itself wouldn't even open. Countless hard resets, and reset all settings. Restore phone and set it up as new. The issue was gone. Restore my backup after restoring as new, issue returned. Backups can hold corruption. Even Apple states that. There are just some extreme issues that require a restore. So yes, thats how it works.
     
  22. Freakonomics101 macrumors 65816

    Freakonomics101

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #22
    +1

    I had a similar issue with the messages app but don't remember exactly what version I was on. I tried restoring to the last backup but didn't go away. Then I restored it again but set it up as new and it was working after that. So I do believe, from my own experience, that backups can become corrupted.
     
  23. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #23
    let the phone index or do it's thing (whatever that it) It will settle in a few hours. Mine has always settled down give it a week.
     

Share This Page