iPhone 6+ resolution? What is the real resolution

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Hot12345, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. Hot12345 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #1
    Hi all,

    I don't get it something, the iphone 6plus have a resolution of full hd.

    But some people are saying that the phone is downscaling from a resolution (??) back to full hd.

    So thats why the iPhone 6+ have some heavy duty going on inside. But on the Apple site it have only a full hd resolution, so how some people know that the phone is downscaling?
     
  2. Hot12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #3
  3. Hot12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #4
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    You don't seem to understand supply issues.

    Nobody makes a native 2208x1242 display. The only display that has a resolution that is sufficiently close enough is 1920x1080. Upsampling to 2560x1440 isn't an option because upsampling looks worse than downsampling.

    A resolution of 2208x1242 is a multiple of 736x414 points, which in turn is also a multiple of 320x480. Developers use points and/or pixels to design apps. It has to be a perfect multiple (i.e. no decimals) of a base resolution. Look at my attachment for more details.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Hot12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #6

    I see, but why they dont make a full hd native screen?(1080)
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    The screen is a full HD 1920x1080 screen. However, UI elements are displayed at 2208x1242 and down sampled to fit the 1920x1080 display. This downsampling results in lag.
     
  7. Hot12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #8

    That is my question, why do you need a downsampling?

    If you look at a android fullhd phones, have they also downsampling? So instead of natif 2208x1242 why dont have it a fullhd(1080res.)?
     
  8. chambone macrumors 6502a

    chambone

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    It's basically to make life easier for app developers.
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    You need downsampling because developers code apps on a base resolution of 480x320. Did you even see the bloody attachment that I attached in a previous post? Did you even bother reading what I wrote there about base resolution, multiples and points?
     
  10. Hot12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    #11
    Yeah i read it, but one thing i don't understand is that for example an android phone at 5.5 inch fullhd (1080res) does it have also downsampling just like on the iphone? Because it seems only the iPhone have struggles with this " downsampling " issue.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    No, because developers use different methods to design the UI of apps on Android, henceforth leading to fragmentation and this is why some apps will work on one device but not on another.
     
  12. TallGuyGT macrumors regular

    TallGuyGT

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #13
    With Apple's clout, I'm sure they could get a 5.5" screen at 2208x1242 resolution. But 1080p was their choice for this generation. I've yet to notice any scaling artifacts, but I regularly noticed choppy animations. Wouldn't mind a native resolution screen and 2GB ram in my next iPhone.
     
  13. gCloud macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    United Federation of Planets
    #14
    What are the chances of the 6s plus getting 2208x1242 display?
     
  14. TallGuyGT macrumors regular

    TallGuyGT

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #15
    I'd say slim, haven't read any rumors on that happening, but would like to be pleasantly surprised!
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    No one really knows.
     
  16. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #17
    I think it's possible. Apple will know more about what they're getting into sales-wise and might be able to begin display production ahead of time to fit their projected sales numbers.

    If they got the 6S to have an A9 (essentially an upgraded, repackaged A8X), powering a NATIVE resolution, we would be looking at a killer phone performance wise.
     
  17. sunfire7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #18
    the ram man.. don't forget the ram :)
     
  18. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #19
    Yes, especially the RAM lol. In all honesty, I don't see too much of a RAM issue on my iPhone 6, although it is still there. On my mini 2 though, it's horrible. And I can imagine that it's the same for the 6 plus.
     

Share This Page